me, myself and Lucy...camping!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Kodai
February 10th 2007
Published: February 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ButterflyButterflyButterfly

it was just fluttering by!
Finally I took a train to visit my folks in Salem. As usual I don't seem to be able to handle them for more than 24 hours. I stayed with them for a night and the next evening, I wanted to get away from there. It's not like I hate my parents or anything like that. I just feel I can't really relate to them that well these days.

Any way, I decided to take a bus to Kodai and camp there for a night or so. I had been to Kodai many times, but I have never climbed up the Perumal Malai peak. I figured that would be a good place for me to camp. The climb was quite easy compared to some of the other treks I have done. It took me about 3 hours or so to get to the top.

The weather wasn't all that great. It was too foggy, so I couldn't see thing. It was nice to be in a place which was cold. I sat there all alone and enjoying the weather, food and reading the newspaper. Normally, I am very talkative, but I enjoyed being alone. I figured there is no
flowersflowersflowers

they are my favourite things that I love taking pictures of.
point in talking to myself... I am not going to listen anyway!! 😊

After spending a few hours wondering whether it was a good idea for me to camp alone. I had camped out alone in freezing weather, but I was kind of crazy then. Any way, a couple of times I wanted to climb down... but in the end, I decide to camp.

Well, I set up my tent quite early and made sure everything was done properly. It was quite windy, so I didn't want to lose my rain flap in the night. So, I used 8 pegs to keep it down. When I am alone or under stress, my mind can work really well... generally with a lot of good imagination... things like elephant might come and eat me and stuff like that. Any way, in the bush the thing that I afraid of is snakes. So I found myself a nice stick and kept it in the tent, so when Mr.Snake tries to sneek into my tent, I can knock down... well that's the plan anyway!

oh... well! as it was getting, I started getting worried... I was worried that an elephant might
trees in the misttrees in the misttrees in the mist

it can be pretty scary to be walking alone in the mist, through the forest.
attack me... or a bison! Any way, Ramki called me and gave me words of wisdom and encouragement and told me not to wander out of the tent at night. As I was talking to him, I heard a noise which sounded like a howling of a fox... something like that! Any way, in the end, I told myself that it's ok to be scared... I am not a sissy... but the truth is I am afraid when I camp out alone. I think if I camp out often, I guess I should be able to get over my fear... any way, that's the lesson. Let's see what happens when camp next time... (what a scary thought!) 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

lily leaf in the lakelily leaf in the lake
lily leaf in the lake

i sat at the lake for about 4 hours, I just enjoyed sitting there and watching people go by... and some row by..
lucy...lucy...
lucy...

I decided to call my tent Lucy... don't ask why... I know it's weird... alright, alright... I admit altitude can make people act strange... wait till you hear the name of my rugsack!
lucy again...lucy again...
lucy again...

I think I love my portable home. It's really nice to have a good tent...
more misty hillsmore misty hills
more misty hills

I guess these hills kinda look nice in the mist
more misty hillsmore misty hills
more misty hills

m...mmm... perhaps these pics are too boring
nice morningnice morning
nice morning

When I got out of the tent in the mornig, there wasn't much mist... but it didn't very long before it was all covered with mystical smoke...


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb