Kampala... the business town!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 2nd 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kampala bus stationKampala bus stationKampala bus station

full of matatus!
I arrived in Kamapala on the new year. The city was very busy with lots and lots of people walking around. They were so many shops on the streets selling clothes, toys, shoes and various things. It didn't take very long for me to find a place to stay. In general people seem to be lot more friendly than in Nairobi.

I never had the guts to walk out on the street in Kenya whether it was in Nairobi or in Kisumu after it was dark. Here I was in Kampala, I wasn't afraid at all. I was very impressed by the locals behaviour as well, they treated me really well.

There were heaps of Chinese selling things. I guess they are pumping in all their products to Africa in exchange of minerals and other natural resources. The Chinese are even funding the roads.

I went to one of the shops to buy some stuff. Apparently it was owned by Indians, my natural habit is to bargain anything I buy. In this case, I wasn't able to do a good job. Man, Indian people are good at bargaining, but we can't do that well to each other.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Chicken anyone!Chicken anyone!
Chicken anyone!

When our bus stopped at a place, many people ran towards to the bus and started shoving things on our faces...
The source of Nile!The source of Nile!
The source of Nile!

Whether this was the source of the nile or not, I enjoyed drinking lots and lots of beer called Nile which is made at a brewery right on the banks of the Nile!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb