What's with all this work stuff?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All

Okay, so that wonderful thought of maintaining a web log, now seems like a really daft idea given the 56K modem that is rapidly becoming my latest nemesis.

Got to London the other day and had ample time to ponder why it is that every time I’m in London, I’m hermetically attached to a lead weighted backpack, stuck in a tube car that isn’t moving, in the midst of a heat wave! I knew there was a reason I left England. Got to say though it was nice to spend some time with the Londeners. When I lived in England, nothing drove you as mad as the tourists who would harp on about how quaint the English are with their “how are you my love?” and their “yes darlin’s”. But truth be told, there is something very warm about the way they carry themselves. It was nice.
Spent most of the day working in the hovel of a hotel room (115 quid = $230 for the night!!) (Incidentally, I’m positive that the hotel was run my Russian Mafia, given the heavy Slavic accents by staff … need to keep an eye on the Visa statement). Went to a yoga class - London Ashtanga Yoga. Hard core, pure Pattabi Jois, don’t even think of changing the series, style of yoga. The woman in charge said she was originally from Montreal, but I’m convinced she was Russian. Had supper at a Gujarat Restaurant. (There’s a good idea before heading to India for a chunk of time Jay!). The restaurant was the only thing cheap about London.

Flight to Chennai the next day was great - British Airways staff were fab compared to the grumpy lot on Air Canada - plus I got a meal out of it (two actually).

Am now in the hotel in Chennai. Have been working hard on stuff. Meetings, more meetings to come. Despite all the work, it’s amazing how quickly my head has reverted back to the Indian head wobble!

Will hopefully get out next week to some of the areas hit by the Tsunami to get a first hand look at some of the rehabilitation efforts in place. No time for photo’s yet. Maybe if I’m not working over the weekend, I’ll snap a few and post them. I’ll see about getting some from the coast next week.

Ciao for now.


Advertisement



6th July 2006

Glad to here you got there
Jayzee good to hear to got there safe . Remember the cows are sacred so keep your hands off them!
7th July 2006

Hi BEBE
This is from the oldest luddite in the world...sending love and gratitude to have such a 'fruitcake' friend as you! Your description of London makes me think that the world of writing is the next big adventure for you! Good night my dear friend...with love from the Grouchy One too

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb