Fare well to St. George's


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
December 19th 2004
Published: December 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

So much has been happening over these last couple of weeks. Junior matron was very ill for a few days and had to go into hospital. This meant that Laura and I were left alone with the juniors. So on top of our usual duties we had to give thirty three children two baths a day, get them up for school at 5.50AM, get them dressed, hair combed, face powdered and get them to study for three hours after school. We took it in turns to sleep with them. I lost my patience with a few of them after a while but on the whole it was really enjoyable, particularly on a few occasions when I woke up in the middle of the night to find I was surrounded by children curled up fast asleep.
Thankfully matron is now fully recovered, but that didn't mean we had any less to do. I have been to nine xmas parties and two church services! I think my favorite has to be Alex's party last night, where there was mulled wine and mince pies - a proper xmas party! But despite of all the xmas celebrations it doesn't feel like christmas at all. How can it be xmas when its 27 degrees outside? I can't imagine what its like back home either. I went on Wedge's diary the other day and the pics of llandudno high street with all the xmas lights and people wearing scarves and hats just looked bizarre! I still picture llandudno in July weather!
The juniors and matron threw Laura and I a party on friday. We attempted to put our saris on our selves but after ten minutes of trying to put the blouses on back to front we asked matron to tie them for us. I don't think I'll ever learn to tie them properly; the pleating in particular is incredibly complicated. The juniors sang us some carols and gave us our presents, two cakes and a set of bangles each. They also said a prayer for us, which was rather strange but the thought was very sweet. I really enjoyed that last night with them. Everyone gorged themselves silly on cake (I'm still trying to get the chocolaty finger prints off my sari) and they were really happy with the presents Laura and I got them.
All the juniors went home yesterday and the older kids go home today. It was really hard saying goodbye to them all. I can't believe that most of the friends I have made out here I will never see again.
So now I have today and tomorrow to get my affairs in order and then I set off to Goa on tuesday morning. Enjoy the festivities, carly.


Advertisement



20th December 2004

Away! Away I say!
It's about time I left my mark here again. Well... I don't envy your Junior minding duties but... wow! I'd forgotten you were leaving the place when Christmas came around! So it's off adventuring finally! But either way... I'm rambling when I don't have anything interesting to say. So I'll stop now. Have fun doing what I'd chicken out of if I got the chance. Merry Christmas! And Happy New Year... and Epiphany if you don't get to a net-worthy PC before then. - Mike - Mike

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb