chocoooolateee


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Auroville
July 27th 2011
Published: July 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

so when i leave Auroville in three weeks time i have around ten days to travel until I make my way to Rishikesh. The extended period of time in this one village has made way for a lot of things that are really important but has drastically cut my travelling time short. so Hampi I wont have time for. Goa can go. (no pun intended), I do still want to make it to Puna if possible but I am going to make my way to Kerala. I am going to visit cocoa, coffee, tea and spice plantations. im anticipating taste testing. my friend who is taking me makes his own amazing vegan organic chocolate. i am going to see if i cant get the recipe. he is going to teach me to grow wheatgrass today. he runs an amazing organisation please check out the website :
www.healthesoilcsa.org
he is the owner of my favourite cafe, vegan, organic and beautiful.

thinking that if i can pull myself away from Kerala i will journey to Koching. I am muchness muchness excited.
On the current x axis I have been spending more time eating and meeting locals. Today I visited Matrimandir, if anyone is intersted google it.. amazing architectural structure. I appreciate the energy and passion of the people who believe in the Aurovillian dream although, as my friend put it, this monument is a bit of a Babylon. What i mean is that I find it ironic that the emphasis should be on spirituality, and the revered Mother said herself that the ultimate goal is to renounce material possessions, yet the building is constructed of solid gold...themoney spent on the upkeep and maintenance and continued construction of the enormous gardens seems to not only be a waste of resources but in one way it is a slap in the face to those who live in poverty. Plus, it is like while the discourse is all about spirituality, the focus is still on making things look impressive, with little regard for the cost involved. I just think that the point coudl have been achieved with a much simpler symbolic monument. somewhere peaceful tranquil and beautiful that doesnt consume ten times more than the supply of water to all of the surrounding villages.

tonight i hope to go volunteer to do arts and crafts with some village kids. very excitedness. tomorrow is my birthday i have lots of festivities organised it is going to be mucho funness. i was going to start capoeira classes but i will be going to a local farm that one of my friends volunteers at to cook up a dinner on a camp fire. there is some sort of reggae jazz festival happening afterwards so i think that would be a lovely celebration. i am hoping to get my face painted liek a fairy. i want to buy sweets and give out little packages to village children.

hope all is well. i want to hear stories from back home email meill write back xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb