Sadhana forest family


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Auroville
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

wow weee

I am really happy!

We left hampi last Thursday our destination: Sadhana forest! Which was and is so far my only plan for India. I knew, this was a place i was definitely gonna come to....
when, how, who with.... i didn't know. But now I know ey, coz I am here and it is amazing!

Poor Samuel was ill on the way down, with 24 hour zombie disease, which is the name we have given to the disease now as Sam looked just like a zombie.
The night train was pretty exciting.....maybe because it was my first time on a sleeper train. But I dunno, there is something special about so many people all sleeping in a big space. The energy that is shared and passed from dream to dream.....oh and shared with the mice and cockroaches too! I was just drifting off and a cockroach wriggled across my arm. I awoke and saw what it was......another first, never seen a cockroach in real life before. Just on American films. Haha.
After this we caught another train, in the day time now. As always, we were surrounded by curious folks. The more you get out of a city the more people are like 'wow, foreigners' and they sure ain't shy about it. Asking our names, where we come from, for our autographs, fighting to sit next to us, all smiling, laughing, staring, shaking their heads in the way, only Indians know how to do.
When I first arrived to india, i didn't have the energy for this, always been stared at. You know, in western culture its seen as rude....and we feel uncomfortable. But, one has to shake this off if they are to travel india...as a white, western, pierced, short haired woman traveling here, because, yes they are gonna stare. And its ok, coz if I feel like it, I will stare right back....they have interesting faces too.

Speaking of faces! The Indian kids are SOOOO cute.......you all probably know me well enough to know, that I am not a brudy person and i really don't think about being a parent at all. But! If something was ever to change my mind.....gosh....indian kids man, so adorable!

Anyways, enough with that babble. Whats really exciting is where I am!!!

Sadhana forest is pretty close to pondicherry. It is part of Auroville, but outside of the perimeter.
We get up at 5.45 if we wanna do yoga (which of course i do!) and if not, we start work at 6.30. Its so nice to be up early everyday. We work for 2 hours. We get to choose what we wanna do. Garden....water plants....helping in the kitchen.....digging holes, chopping wood. Etc and blah blah. Then after two hours work we eat lunch. Its alllll vegan, so this is a joy for me. As traveling around before was a little frustrating.....people didnt really understand what the hell i was babbling on about 'i don't eat anything from animal....no milk, no curd, no butter, no ghee.....is this without?'
errr...confused look 'yes ma'am yes ma'am no meat this is all veg, pure veg'
argh!
so it was relaxing to get somewhere i don't have to worry. There is also no sugar in the food. oh yeah and no alcohol, drugs or caffeine...soo nice to detox.
Hmm hmm.
After an hour breakfast session, we go back to work. less strenuous work then earlier though as its so damn hot. We finish work at 11.30......chill, then eat. yum yum.
The kitchen.....its cool, Sophie you would like it, we cook on 4 rocket stoves. Very interesting. This week I am in charge of keeping the fires going and such. I am excited to learn so many different skills needed to keep a place like this running.
The actual project, is reforestation of some trees. The land got real fucked up when it got colonised....they chopped down all the forest,,,,, and it became a clay desert land.....for many many many years. ..
Everything is organic.....we use compost toilets, neem leaf powder for our teeth, coconut rope and ash to clean dishes...and blah blah!
The first night we got there, there was an open stage. Sam and I looked at each other and smiled. Home!! There is an abundance of workshops everyday, yoga, Thai chi, how to make reusable menstruation pads, meditation, reeki, massage....the list goes on. Next week sam and a new friend are planning to make a games work shop. With lots of kids games, fun and smiles!
The people here are so easy to get a long with. It feels like a big family. we all live in big huts, again, all natural, mostly made out of bamboo, leaves, string, etc.
Ahh there is so much more tell, but it would probably bore. So, I will save it for another babble.

But yeah, that's basically what I am up to now and for the foreseeable future. I am excited about life.

a few things i like about India. Some times you get on a bus, and they are playing really loud music......haha disco transport.
Most of the signs and advertisements are hand painted, much like things would of been in the old days in Europe and such. Also all the vans and large vechales are painted, such vibrant colours, flowers, patterns. I like this so much. Just adding colour and life to everything.
Some things are some what disturbing to me (as a westerner) kids shitting in the middle of the road for example. It's ok for the people living here, there immune systems are used to it.....but for me, it is hard and my cuts get infected easy.

well I gotta go eat now.......i hope to keep writing some other time coz I have so much to say....blah blah blah blah
im feeling inspired.
but i will save this for another day

much lovexxxxxxxxx


Advertisement



3rd February 2009

Wowee
Hi Kay, So pleased to read your blog, you broody? Not laughed as much for years! hahahahahaha. Life sounds great, can't wait to come and see you, and see what it is all like. So looking forward to the experience, the shock! Keep on blah blah'ing, I love it! xxxx
11th February 2009

so very nice to read up on yer travels. have only dreamed of living like that... must be so nice to give up all this shit (he says drinking coffee, smoking a cigarette while typing on a laptop) :P keep safe yo, i be doing me best to get out therer... there er much building work need doing out there in paradise?

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb