Crazy Country


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
January 24th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

India!

Hmmm, I am pretty slow at writing a travel blog. I did write a really really long one last week, then bam, the Internet fucked and I lost it all. This was some what energy draining and I haven't been able to face writing another one!
where to start in describing my experiences, what I've seen, how I feel, what it is like here. Its some what overwhelming, as it is all so different. And where to start??

I guess, at the beginning would be a good idea.

Brother sam(ius) and I arrived in to Mumbai, tired. After a journey lasting over 26 hours. We set off from cold, snow covered Berlin. And arrived into crazy Mumbai. Upon arriving into the airport I was so so tired. But my eyes where wide open trying to take in all these new sites, signs, smells, languages....and man it was so fucking hectic! People shouting, pushing, chaos everywhere. Half the building wasn't even really built. I thought, ok if this is how mental it is in an airport, what is it like out there! My eyes turned to the window and I saw hundreds of people waiting for there friends to arrive. in a big mass, again, the noise, the hecticness of it all, was something I have never seen before.

We manged to get a taxi and not get ripped off, but we were confused; how much should things cost? Will the taxi driver skank us? Blah blah and so forth. And I was scared man, oh my gosh! They drive like mad men. I didn't understand why they were beeping their bleeming horns all the time. Beeep beeep beepppp that is sort of the theme tune to India. We stayed at some freaky red cross hostel. Ok its the cheapest place in Mumbai, but I think thats for a reason. I won't go into details. But imagine what a English church school might be like 150 years ago....that is sort of what this hostel is like harharhar.

Mumbai, was madness, it smelly, busy and some what too much for my head to take. As soon as samwise arrived and rested, we go outa there. Viaaaa bus. To a place called

Gokarna.
It is a beautiful little town, just south of Goa. Very much on the 'traveling circuit' but it was ideal for what we were after. The sams and I all dreamed of golden beaches, relaxing and swimming in the sea. And this is exactly what we did. So nice to be able to chill out after life in a city. We got to Gokarna after a bumpy somewhat uncomfortable bus ride. (I swore to myself I would not set foot upon a bus like that again until I had health insurance haha, crazy fuckers!)
We jumped on a boat, which took us to a more secluded beach, a beach called paradise beach. Cheesey name. We stayed in a hut on the side of a hill. Every morning we would wake up, drink fresh juices, eat some food, go for a swim, eat some more, play some music. So lazy days pretty much! Nice to do that for a little while, but certainly not how I want to spend my India trip.
I also got sick there, projectile vomit, water poo, no appetite for days and feeling sick sick all the time. I'm over that now though.

After chilling in the sun, we set off to Hampi, also with a new friend called Seb. So now we are 5 heading to sadhana forest. Me, the Sams, Riikka and Seb. Yay.

Hampi! Oh my goddd its so beautiful and cosmic and and and well i can't describe it. So many temples, and the stones scattered across miles of rock covered landscapes. Its like nothing i've ever seen before. Every night we sit at a high point and watch the sun set over the rice fields, banana fields, temples and stones. And every day it takes my breath away. I am so blessed to be able to travel like this, to have the time to sit and appreciate.

India is so fucked up in so many ways. But so amazing in many other places. Its beautiful and horrible. The poverty is bad and there is litter everywhere. So many young children having to work from a very young age. I feel i cannot just be here as a consumer, but I would very much like to put my energies into making this place less fucked for the people who live here. They don't seem to have any proper waste management, which results in massive piles of rubbish everywhere. And use weak stomached westerners make it so much more worse. As we cannot handle the water, we have to drink bottled water (apart from those wise enough to have bought some sort of water purifying device) It is so hot here, that ever day one needs to drink at least 3, 1 liter bottle. Times that by the millions of travels put it together with the lack of waste management, we have a really big problem. It makes me feel sad to be part of this.

I am looking so much forward to heading to this forest and start doing some work. To be active. My mind cannot rest when I am lazy like this. I long to cook my own food, serve myself and just use my body.

So far though, I am happy, and I am so lucky to be here, with my beautiful friends in this vast diverse crazy country. I hope my experiences will carry on being inspiring and eye opening.

This was a long one, but not half as long as it could of been!

hahaaaaaa

love y'all!!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


ps I will upload photos later, need to watch the sunset now x

Advertisement



25th January 2009

www.drawlin.com
Your experiences sound amazing. I have wanted to back pack in that area for a long time, or at least visit. Some day.. Some day.. Max www.drawlin.com
4th February 2009

woop
Yay! Finally I check ya blog and there's not one but two entries!! Just about to go read the next one! Love to you both my dear friends :), love to you all even take care and have lots of fun x x x your bud andi x x
13th March 2009

ur views on hampi
hampi was a great city once upon a time ...... but now its nothing but ruins ... its so polluted because of the politics that is prevailing in the town ...... the govt wont manage the funds properly . i have been to hampi 4 times in my life .... and everytime its getting more polluted .... did u visit all the temples ?// in hampi ??? did u see the musical pillars ?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb