the confident cow


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
February 28th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post



After 4 weeks and 1 day staying in Sadhana forest I have hit the road again. This brings with it the same excitement that always runs through me when I'm leaving into the unknown. After chilling for some time, being comfortable, knowing the area, this sort of thing.......it feels good to break the bubble. Auroville......how to explain this place. It's beautiful, but not like the rest of India, or in fact like india at all. Everything is quite western and clean. And it is, just like living in a bubble. Sadhana forest was a good experience, but I was ill for the past week.........hurray for parasites! haha. So I couldn't work....this sort of takes the fun out of being there. Woah woah. A crazy 24 sickness, somewhat like zombie disease wiped out the whole community. This was such a strange time. Most of the people at sadhana are really lively and out going....then bam zombies! everywhere!
I think I would like to re visit Sadhana in tree planing season (which is July.....when the monsooooooon comes)

A little rascal surprise happened at Sadhana actually! I was chilling in the hammock outside my hut, playing guitar, relaxing. Then Regina walks through the front gate. Wow yay! So nice to see her, but that's not the surprise, coz I knew she was coming. I jumped out of my Hammock and gave her a hug, then showed her around the place. She then said, will you come help me with some stuff outside....I said sure......but i was somewhat confused what it was coz her bag was inside already. But ok, she needs help......I help ha ha. I went out there........and sat there in the sunshine next to my other friends was Amelie. Shes such a rascal! I didn't even know she was in India. It was super nice to her....and spend time in sadhana together.

Samwise bought himself a royal enfield bullet motor bike. Its a good looking machine with a well known reputation of.....braking down hahaha. We set off yesterday, our packs on each side and a guitar strapped to the back behind the seat. I bought myself a motor bike helmet, with a tiger on it! Yes, even in times of safety.....fashion still comes first.....haha its so ugly its unreal. Oh and speaking of head fashions. My hair is getting pretty long and very messy. It sort of sticks up all over the place and has a constant 'out of bed look'. Plus....and frew will laugh at this coz hes always claiming I am a ginger and I deny....every time. ....its sort of ginger now! So now he can call me ginger and it actually be true.
It was really nice riding through the little villages on the back of a roaring motor bike. In fact we liked one village so much, we decided to brake down in it, just so we could spend a little bit more time there. Hahaha. But don't worry folks, it wasn't anything serious and lucky enough we were right next to a mechanic. We got back on the within an hour.

So....lets see how it goes huh? Today he is getting a new spark plug. Companion wise....it is sam and I on his bike. Then two people called Grant and Nancy on another bike. A honda hero. We are heading towards kodai kanal which is south from pondicherry and in land. Google it if you have time, it looks proper lush and I am extremely excited to get there. Partly because it offers; mountains, woodland, tea fields and a massive lake. But also because its gonna be a least 10 oC lower than it is here. Oh my gosh, its getting soooo warm, even at 8am it is possible to break a sweat just sitting twiddling your thumbs.

I am ready to go north. I feel it in my heart, it is repeating, wow kay mountains, cool temperature, fresh air, calm....go north, go north. I am replying. Yeah hold on hearty, we will go there. But first we wait for my Mother to arrive! Mothership lands in India on the 13th. She is staying for 11 days 😊 I'm not sure where we are gonna stay but somewhere nice hopefully!

Riding on the roads in India, one might see a clear straight road ahead. But this is not to be taken as true. At any time a crazed goat could jump in the track, or an even more crazed rickshaw with a mad man driver could swerve out of no where. Or a very very confident cow could stroll out into the road and well.....just chill there. Because yes, the cows have the upper hand. They are holy and they know it! A main road? No problem! Just walk right out into it and take a little nap. They are the calmest creatures i have come across in India. Some of them are so big....big beasty holy things. With huge horns painted red. Ha ha.

Sometimes I miss the cleanness of Europe.......the normality (for me and ease of things. Sometimes I wish it wouldn't be so noisy and mad all the time. But most of the time I live right here and now and look at all the amazing things rather than focusing on what makes me feel frustrated. Like how every house on a row can be different. One bright bright colours, big and tall, the next one almost falling apart and looking like its not being used, the next one could be looking brand new and a tree growing out of drain pipe....the next one could just be a pile of rubble the bricks just holding a memory of a house. And when we drive through a village, the faces of the local people just light up.....they might jump up with a huge smile and shout hello hello! or wave frantically. The kids could run down the street shouting good morning good morning. Just because they are happy to see strangers.
But then in the cities, the kids surround you, in dirty clothes and skinny little legs. With their hands out saying hello, hello, tapping you on the arm, hello hello. Pointing to their stomachs.

Brother sam went off on his push bike with a new friend! I hope he is well. Rikkaa headed north for some tranquility. Seb went back to Gokarna to meet egg master.

well I am gonna get going now. It would be great to get emails off all you beautiful people. Find out how you're all doing and if you are happy. If I don't reply its not because I don't care, it is just because my engery for computer tap tapping is low, and seldom. Then I forget.

I love you all so much! bye bye bye xxxxxxxx
ps, I have put some more pics on myspace 😊


Advertisement



1st March 2009

Contented Cows! Holy Moo!
Is it really true the cows have their horns painted bright colours? So excited about coming to see you and Sam in just over a week; Your experiences sound wonderful Kay, what a nice surprise to see Amelie too! Love ya lots, xxx cya soon
5th March 2009

good to hear you're ok
Hi it's your Auntie!! loverly to hear all the wonderful things you are doing and seeing. Enjoy your time with the mother love Helen
7th March 2009

booorrraaarrrrrrr!!
Eyyyy! Proper niceeness man! Funkeeh shizzle, great to hear your aving a gooden! Things are good in the hudd, we got a jon boy back and am currently sat on stephs couch chiiln beans. Kriri and cartey had little Evie Millie Carter yesterday evening :) greatness! Ill shout you an email sometime soon, miss you a whole heap take care kayble :-p xx

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb