Our lovely time with Sunil and Sarina in Jaipur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
March 11th 2009
Published: March 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Next, we headed by train to Jaipur, our first stop in the state of Rajasthan. We didn't have many plans in Jaipur, just to enjoy the Holi festival, the celebration of summer arriving and also called the festival of colour!

My friends from home, Dalip & Sonia, have family in Jaipur and gave us their phone number, in case we wanted to meet them. We are so happy we did! We met with Sunil and his wife Sarina in the morning and they immediatly took us under their wing. The gave us a tour of the city, took us to the beautiful museums, and the hightlight for me, Sarina took me to the bazaar and we went SHOPPING!! Which is more fun when you are with an Indian woman because they bargain like you wont believe! Shopkeepers like to take advantage of tourists and overcharge, but with Sarina I got everything for "Indian prices." It was so much fun! Joe just tagged along and rolled his eyes everything I said I needed to buy something. Next we headed to the Elephant Festival and watched a parade of elephants all painted and dressed up, another highlight for me!

Joe and I headed back to the hotel to rest and made plans to go for dinner with Sunil and Sarina. They took us to the most adorable theme park (I can't remember the name of it). There, we got to see many interesting music shows, went on a camel and elephant ride, and had a very traditional Rajasthani meal.

The next moring was Holi, everyone covers each other with coloured powder. We were invited to Sunil and Sarina's home for breakfast and then Sarine took me out in the neighborhood with her friends to celebrate Holi like the locals do. It was so much fun and I was covered from head to toe in all the colours of the rainbow. Joe spent time with Sunil and celebrated Holi with the men. Afterwards, we had a delicious home cooked Indian lunch and had to say our good-byes to our wonderful hosts.

We went back to the hotel and scrubbed ourselves clean (I still have colour on my skin and hair) and relaxed until we needed to catch our overnight train to Jaisalmer.

So, we are now in Jaisalmer and it is beautiful. We head out on our camel safari tomorrow and will update the blog when we come back.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb