The End of Rajasthan


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Later this evening I'm boarding a train to begin a 45 hour or so trip by train and bus to Uttarkashi, where my course begins on the 20th. I will at least have a 10 hour or so break in Delhi, but in spite of how appealing the mountains sound right now, I'm not looking forward to the process of getting there.

Rajasthan has been a good enough introduction to India, I suppose. It sees more tourists than any other state, and at times it was quite beautiful. Other times were markedly less than spectacular. It rained the last 24 hours or so that I was in Jaisalmer, which I gather is extremely rare outside of the (meager) monsoon season. I had no complaints until night fell, when the "storm" (as it was described to me by a few people, though in fact I would describe it as a "steady drizzle" most of the time) knocked out the whole city's power. What had before been poorly and spottily lit streets became utterly black. The inadequate (being charitable) sewer system was overwhelmed, so there were large rivers of multi-specied shit flowing in the streets. During my walk back to the hotel after having dinner in the fort, I assumed that every step would likely land in one of these rivers. By some miracle I seem to have avoided the worst of it, but I washed the cuffs of my pants very vigorously once back to my room. The next morning I saw a cow slip and fall on one of the slick, sloping stone streets, and I unashamedly felt a bit of schadenfreude.

Once in Jodhpur, I took an autorickshaw from the bus stand (the computers in Jaisalmer's railway station went down, so I couldn't buy a train ticket) to the railway booking office, and was proud of myself for paying even less than what I thought an Indian would have payed. After spending forty-five minutes booking my train ticket to Delhi in four days' time, I came outside to find the same autorickshaw driver waiting for me. He had assumed that I would need a ride to my hotel after booking a ticket, but in fact the guesthouse where I stayed in Jodhpur was picking me up for no charge. I called them to inform them of my location and that I was ready to be picked up, then told the persistent autorickshaw to get lost. He seemed very confused and agitated but I didn't give a damn. Shortly before the hotel arrived to pick me up (on a motorcycle), the autorickshaw disappeared. As I got on the motorcycle, the rickshaw driver came by and threw god knows what all over the guy who came on the motorcycle. I don't know what it was (it looked somewhat like the pulp of some fruit, but that's just a guess), but it missed me. He then sped off, while the guy wiped off his face and picked some of the stuff out of his hair, I'm sure very confused as to why that had just happened. I didn't bother trying to explain.

Most people who come to Jodhpur only stay here for a day, long enough to see the magnificent fort, before continuing on to more popular destinations in Rajasthan. I stayed for four, mostly because I just didn't feel like trying to cram in one more place. I saw the fort my first day here, which truly was quite impressive. It was completely derelict until the early 70s, when the local maharaja decided to clean it out and open it to tourists. Entrance was a hefty $5, but it included a private audio guide on an mp3 player. The fort was built in the late 15th century, if my memory isn't failing me, and was never overrun, despite once being under siege for 6 months by Jaipur. It was immensely more impressive than Jaisalmer's fort. The old town that surrounds the base of the fort is mostly painted blue, which was originally done as the indigo was thought to deter insects, but eventually the aesthetic effect became just as big a reason.

The next day I didn't do much of anything. I took a walk in the morning and bought some second-hand books, then spent the day reading, napping, and talking to other travelers at my guesthouse. Unfortunately the guesthouse wasn't as serene and relaxing as it should have been. An addition at the front of the building had just begun, and the workers were breaking concrete and tossing it off the 2nd story all day. The owner, despite being incandescently gay, is married and has a two year old son, and the boy is perhaps the most annoying I've ever encountered. He is an inconsolable attention whore, constantly crying for no reason other than that nobody is paying attention to him, and when not crying blathering nonsense "songs" at the top of his lungs. Two middle-aged Frenchwomen, who would normally top the Most Annoying list, spent hours cooing to the boy in French, while his mother went about cleaning, cooking, and generally running the house.

Since I'm loathe to go back out in the midday heat, here are some observations and complaints from the past two weeks.



My original plan to travel south down to Kerala and Tamil Nadu once my course if finished is now sounding less and less appealing. I thought I could cope with the heat by taking it easy and avoiding the worst of the midday sun, but even doing that for two weeks in March has convinced me that it won't work for a few months when it's even hotter. That likely means I'll be spending the next 3+ months in the Himalayas, which should do just fine.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb