Let loose in Pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
April 8th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Camel ridingCamel ridingCamel riding

That'd be Rachel and Shauna
Free day in Pushkar
Holy City. Be good now!
Wander here. Shop there.

I basically spent the day in Pushkar with Robyn. We did a tiny bit of shopping and we tried to go see the Brahma temple but there was a bit of a disturbing incident that gave us a sour taste in our mouths. Here's the short story of what happened. Robyn and I take off our shoes like you're supposed to and put them in a cubby hole for safe keeping. Then there are flower vendors that say "free flowers" as offerings. We say "no thanks." Basically it is like the flower in the lake scam. Then this guy is yelling at us that we should take the flowers out of respect. Hey buddy, what's with the elevated voice? It took me a bit by surprise to see this guy getting so upset. So we decided not to visit the temple. 1) Because of the flower dude and 2) For fear if we went into the temple our shoes wouldn't be there upon our return! LOL

In the late afternoon we got ready for our camel safari. A three hour camel ride into the desert. My camel Johnny after the first break just flat out lay down. Oh no did I kill him? I'm sorry for eating so much McDonald's...I'll eat more fruits and veggies...I'll exercise more regularly...My camel boy seemed to be a bit on the lazy side as well. At one point he was sitting and hanging off of the camel cart that was up front. Then it was a bit scary the first time my came ran but after a while you just get used to it. All I'll say is thank goodness for the invention of the sports bra! lol A couple of times my camel boy asked if I was okay...hey, if I'm still on top of the camel I'm okay!

Once we got to our campsite we just sat down around where the campfire should have been. Then a campfire was eventually built. We had some traditional Rajasthani food for dinner. The music came out and then the singing started and then the dancing. The little 9 year old camel boy sure is a dancer. BTW, his camel is two years older than him! Then we tented it all together under the stars. Well, Robyn, Rachel and David decided to sleep outside of the tent which meant I had lots of space to my right. In the middle of the night it got pretty windy though...

In the morning it was a little chilly and I think the blankets they had provided to us not the most clean since I broke out in hives! Thank goodness that only lasted a few hours. Mind you it was a long few hours of itchiness!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb