The power of music


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
November 10th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

If the other night was the worst night so far then yesterday was certainly the best. The Spanish girl at my guesthouse told me about a concert down the lake. Since it was five minutes away and I wasn't particularly tired I decided to go, expecting to find hippy travellers playing "Across the Universe" on guitar. And how big was my surprise when I found that this was actually an all Indian event. At first I was suspicious but I could sense the good vibe so I timidly walked in. The people welcomed me and make me feel at home. And for once they didn't want anything in return.
There was a blind guy playing a small keyboard and three guys on jembes. In between music the blind guy would recite prayers in Sanscrit. There was tea going around and a guy was sprinkling scented oil on people's sleeves. Overall it was magic. As I sat there clapping my hands to the rhythm I thought that music was the answer. It doesn't matter if we have different values and believes. When we listen to good music together we are all on the same wavelength.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.4kb