Camel Safari!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
January 23rd 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

No, really, that's high enoughNo, really, that's high enoughNo, really, that's high enough

What do you mean you're only half-way up!?
The camel safari was truly an experience I will never forget.

When my camel stood up halfway I thought, "Wow, I am so tall--just like being on a horse!" and then when he finished standing up I wished he were shorter and I was closer to the ground. Then he started to shift his weight back and forth. Ack!
I spent the first 20 minutes convinced my saddle was crooked and lose, and that I would fall off and die. Death by camel trampling is not the way I want to go. Turns out my camel was just relaxing/being lazy and standing funny. Once my driver, Sultan, got on behind me I was fine and actually relaxed enough to enjoy the ride.

We had a 3 hour journey out and down dirt roads, small sand dunes, and through many acacia trees. We even saw a group of antelope. Riding with towering mountains on both sides, talking with Sultan about the farms raising dal grass and onions, then the different kinds of trees, I felt quite at peace. He was really interested in the US and was told me about how he meets all kinds of people doing his job.
I feel so tallI feel so tallI feel so tall

It's scary up here
The temple for Bhrama's first wife was in on the mountain to my right and we rode around the mountain. (Okay, it's not really a mountain, just a REALLY tall hill.)

After riding about halfway, we stopped to rest the camels and were sooned joined by other camel riders and 2 boys playing what looked like an Indian version of an erhu. All they could play was "Friar Jacques," a song I don't really like. And they played only part of it over and over and over again--poorly. 2 Canadians gave the boys some money to get them to go away. (Incidently, the Canadians know Minneapolis and its one of their favorite cities!) The German guy didn't have any small bills, and not wanting to give the boys Rs500 gave them a 50 note. Generous, if you ask me. The boy he had handed it to asked if he had anything else, since there were 2 of them and they wanted equal parts. The German said no and the boys looked unhappy. I'm not sure if they were being greedy (and wanting another 50) or if they were foolish (wanting 2 20s). I joked later to the German that he should have just ripped it in two. Mean, I know, but when you get hit up for money as much as we have it's what you're thinking.

We then got on our camels and rode on--Kent and I going one way and everyone else going another--they were camping out overnight and therefore going to a different location. I don't camp well.

We arrived at our spot just in time to watch the sunset. Magnificent. We sipped chai tea and watched the colors fade into black.

Afterwards, we headed to wehre the big group was and watched the bonfire crackle. Then the dancing began. I moved up next to the fire to keep warm and get a better view. Besides, they had set up cushions like a pseudo-sofa, so it was actually more comfortable than by the tables!
They danced solo, in pairs, with meter tall jugs atop their heads, and there was even a fire eater! After watching all of this for over half an hour, they grabbed the hands of we ladies by the fire and we tried our best to dance with them. IT was pure craziness, all of us twirling next to the
Wild AntelopeWild AntelopeWild Antelope

We saw at least 10 of them watch us and then run right in front of us!
fire with our arms flailing in an attempt to keep up with their dizzying pace.

After all of that, it was time for dinner. It was good, but nothing amazing. Perhaps I've been eating too well this entire trip.

We talked about going back--Kent wanted to ride with Rama in the car (he had joined us at this point) and I wanted to go by camel under the stars. While I made a quick stop in the bathroom Rama and the owner of the adventure both told Kent that he shouldn't let me go alone (with the 2 drivers). It's unfortunate that even they don't think it's safe for me to be alone with 2 Indian men--and I know it has nothing to do with how they view me. I'm just foreign, white, and a woman.

So Kent came along for the ride (yipee!) and we raced our camels across the desert back to town. To my joy and his chagrin we ran on and off most of the trip back. Running (or as I would call it, trotting) makes you bounce up and down a lot. Hard.

As we raced back, even in the now
As seen from on topAs seen from on topAs seen from on top

A picture that can only be taken from the back of a camel.
deserted town, I could see the night sky glowing with stars. I lifted my head up, breathed in the clean air and marveled at the scene before me. It felt so liberating.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

RestingResting
Resting

I don't think he's enjoying the music, either.
DancerDancer
Dancer

The smoke kept getting into her eyes. I kept thinking she was going to drop the cone on her head!


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb