Pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So I found a better internet so I can catch up on the blog. We are in Pushkar right now which is a tiny holy town near Ashmer in Rajasthan state. It is one of the holiest places in India and boast the only Brahman temple in the world and a holy lake with 52 ghats, which are essentially just steps down to the lake where people bathe and pray. It really is so incredible I can't even put it into words. We arrived by bus and found the people to be the most friendly that I have encountered yet here. Indians tend to be rather pushy in everything that they do, but here they at least do it with a smile on their face and say namaste before you leave. we found an incredible guest house for 80 Rupees, which is less than $2. We are going to be staying here till the 14th because there is a kite festival going on that day. The kids here are obsessed with kites and their skills are unlike any that I have ever seen. They can cut each other's kite strings just by the control of their own kite. It is a beautiful site, as every time you look into the sky their is at least 10 kites in view, they light up the sky with their vibrant colors and I have caught myself staring at them blowing in the wind for hours. Life here is completely laid back and i am so happy to be here. I have already finished one book, and am half way through the second. I have time to relax and breathe and the only thing that I HAVE to do with my days is eat, which is no chore since everything is cheap and delicious.
The monkeys here are my favorite part. They line the rooftops and streets along with the cows and stray but healthy puppies. I fed one a banana and an apple on the steps of the ghats that lead down to the lake and then it growled is gigantic teeth at me so I ran away. But it was still amazing. I wake up at about 4 am every day because we go to bed early and I am not yet adjusted to the 12 hours time difference. So As I sit on the rooftop waiting for the sun to rise and breathing the crisp Indian air, I listed to the bells of the 500 temples, and the procession of Brahmans and their followers as they walk to and from the holy lake singing and chanting. It is so surreal, every second feels like a dream. My happiness here is growing with every day and I am so grateful that I took the plunge and ran to the other side of the world. Pushkar is the new love of my life, and I will be sad to leave. Next stop will be Bundhi, so until then...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th January 2009

http://www.indiaroutemap.com
Hope you had a chance to enjoy the Pushkar fair, which is a famous tourist attraction in pushkar like the Kite festival that you have mentioned. It mainly has villagers coming down to sell their valuables including cattle, jewelery and it also includes camel caravan and elephant caravan too. Its fun being at the Pushkar fair.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb