Jodhpur and a little Pushkar...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I arrived in Jodhpur a few days ago and met up with brittney and randall. It was so nice so see some familiar faces and be able to explore the city with good friends. Johpur is a beautiful little market town in Rajghastan State. The markets were so much more amazing than I was expecting and filled with thousands or sari's, fruits and vegetables, nuts (which are about 10 times cheaper than in the states). We got an awesome little room in a guesthouse for 100 rupees each, which is just over $2. It was perfect since it had a hot shower which is apparently very uncommon here and wester toilets ( which compared to the squat toilet in my first hotel room was pure heaven). We spent two days there wandering the maze of streets, eating the most amazing food I have ever eaten, and enjoying the amazing scenery. The food has been cheaper than i have ever believed possible. I feel guilty for how little I am paying but I am not about to offer more. We are averaging about $6 a day, so hopeully I can stay on this trend and make my money last. Also I got a bitchin shave for a couple bucks which i is closer than I have ever been able to do myself and came with a face massage and this wierd buffer thing that actually kind of hurt, but whatever is was $2, I wasn't gonna stop him. We snuck into the gigantic fort that sits on top of the city and checked out its incredible views of the town. THe pictures are stuck on my large memory card which I have yet to be able to download from (crappy intenet around these parts). We met a Canadian girl and hung out with her the second night. SHe is going to be heading south about the same time that I will be so we might be able to travel together. She said that it has been much harder for her to meet other travelers in Inida compared to the other countries she has been traveling around, so hopefuly I will either hang out with her or have a little better luck. We left in the early morning by train and got on a bus to Pushkar, which is the most amazing place I have been. This internet is the worst I have been on yet and the AC is blasting so I am freezing, so I will discuss the town more when I get to a better place. But there is monkeys and cows and temples galore!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb