Final Day At Sambhali


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
July 31st 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post


This is my last day at Sambhali, and it feels like time to recollect all I’ve gained and contributed during my two months here. There have been many challenging and heartbreaking moments, and I will never forget these lessons. The harsher memories are softened by neighboring images of determination, of sacrifice, of respect, and of love from the strong community of Sambhali Trust.

Once immersed in the swift flow of the NGO, I marveled at the smoothness and speed in which things were accomplished. Walls and completely new rooms were built in mere days at the office; the Sambhali store was opened with only a few delays (shocking for Jodhpur); meetings were conducted bimonthly without fail, successfully bring the entire team together to share our work and thoughts. I learned a lot about what a successful NGO looks like, and the work that it entails. Helping in the classrooms showed me the commitment with which women and girls pursue their goals. I’ve also become very familiar with the microfinance in India, and the nature of Sambhali’s classrooms and training. I am very grateful to bring this knowledge away with me. I’m also satisfied with leaving behind my finished my project, the Sambhali Sheerni Microfinance 6 Month Report.

I am sorry to be leaving this powerful group of women and supporters. At my last meeting, I gave bracelets to all of the staff as friendship gifts. On behalf of Sambhali Trust, Govind gave me a clothe elephant sewed by the women, with Ganesh’s blessing of luck for my future. Saying goodbye to familiar faces, I knew that the close friendships I’ve built will surely last long past my return home. I am so glad I came, for there is so much I will miss.

I am very excited to see my friends and family at home and tell them about all I've done. Thank you all for supporting me every inch of the way.

All my love,

Ariel


Advertisement



2nd August 2010

Thanks
Hi Ariel, thanks for this nice and warm report. I have posted it on our Sambhali Twitter. ;-) Cornelia

Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb