Being healthy while traveling


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
December 15th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Before going to India, the CDC and most doctors recommend several vaccinations. Before I went to India last time, I got hepatitis A, polio, and typhoid immunizations. I didn’t need to get any more this time, but I still need to take malaria medicine again. I will start taking it Sunday. It is supposed to give you strange dreams, but I didn’t notice this last time. I really didn’t have any side effects.

I will also have to watch what I eat while there. I think that avoiding uncooked foods, even fruits and vegetables is good advice. Also, drink only bottled water, and use bottled water when brushing your teeth. It is hard sometimes though.

Last time I was really tempted by sliced fresh tomatoes, fresh lycees, cherries, and other fruits. Every time I would give in to the temptation, I regretted it later as I made frequent trips to the bathroom. Maybe if I wash the fresh fruit off with bottled water it will be okay. I will try it.

Tip: Make sure your bottled water is sealed when you buy it. Some places take empty water bottles and refill them with tap water (although it might be boiled or filtered).

Tip: Avoid animals, even those that seem friendly. You will encounter monkeys, dogs, cattle, horses, camels, elephants, and more. Avoid them because they may carry rabies. Monkeys can be aggressive and chase you for food!


Advertisement



16th December 2005

More Suggestions for Health
Very interesting, though I cannot figure out why these tips only for India. Monkeys are the same everywhere, not that in India only they run after food and in USA they carry their own! It is only common sense that even 'polished' food sold in stores in US or Europe, should be washed clean before eating...same in India...atleast in India it is fresh as nature intended it to be and not processed genetically. Bottled water is cheap, costs a quarter dollar...so use it even to brush teeth. I loved my stay in India...culturally very diverse and colourful.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb