Preparing for the trip


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
December 14th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Sunday, Dec. 25, I’m leaving Chicago O’Hare for Mumbai. My flight takes me through Zurich, but there is only about 1 ½ hour layover. Coming back on Jan. 15, I will have a six hour layover and am considering leaving the airport to explore the city.

To be honest, I don’t know what I am doing while in India. The idea is to fly down to Cochin for a few days or a week. There, we want to take a house boat cruise. I’ve seen a few websites for these cruises where you stay on rice barge with a few servants and a guide. But nothing is booked yet.

This is my second trip to India. I’ve added a few pictures of my first trip, which was in late May to early June of 2004. During that two week trip, we had a specific and busy itinerary. We spent only a few days in Mumbai, just enough time to really get over the jetlag, before leaving for Delhi. Then, we went to Agra, Haridwar, Corbett Tiger Reserve, and Nanital. It was the hottest time of the year, and everywhere but Haridwar and Nanital were 100+ degree days. That kind of weather really did limit how much I could see, especially in Delhi, where the heat combined with the crowds.

This time, the trip is a little longer, and there is no grand plan. I expect to spend most of the time in Mumbai, but we will probably go elsewhere too. No plans for New Years’ Eve. Perhaps we will go out, or maybe we will just stay in. I am staying with my fiancée’s family, where he is living right now. The lack of a plan is partially because of the need to make wedding plans while there, and partially because I have been incredibly busy until today.

Any suggestions for things to do in Mumbai and the surrounding area? One thing I want to see this time is the Bombay Zoo. Maybe I should walk around the university grounds too. It won’t be too hot to step out of the AC this time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb