Indian Summer


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
March 24th 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I received a really nice email from a fellow from Mumbai, who wanted to warn me of the 40 degree heat wave that lingers during the time I have planned my vacation to his country. I can assure you, he's not the first person who has tried to defer my trip to another time because of that heat.

I’m sure that if I read a blog from a traveler who planned to camp in British Columbia in the month January, I’d feel compelled to warn them of the dangers too. I really do appreciate the advice.

However, there are many reasons I’ve stuck to my guns on the dates: it fits perfectly with my schedule at work; my nephew’s girlfriend is moving to Delhi to study nursing that month; and boy, can I ever use a vacation right about now!

As you've likely read in a previous blog, I’ve visited India twice before, Mumbai in early Feb '03 and Delhi mid April '05. On that second trip, the difference in temperature was certainly noticeable; it was so hot that parts of my shoes actually melted.

I was horrified at times with what I saw when I was in these cities, and will always remember that young boy who was banging on my car window with the stubs of what remained of his arms: the grimace on his acid-burned face will be etched in my memory forever.

Also while staying in Mumbai, I had the opportunity to go camping in Nasik for a night. We drove through tiny rural villages and dense jungle, and finally ended up at a friend's property beside a river. The things I saw, smelled, and heard along the way were truly amazing - so different from anything I had seen before. I was most interested in the differences in our cultures.

While in Rajasthan, I will keep my eye open for hill stations and oases away from the heat, deferring to these warnings. I will do my best to drink lots of water and keep myself screened from the sun. I will expect the smells to be more pungent, and the heat to be excruciating. However, I will be amongst one billion fellow human beings, who have lived in this heat for thousands of years. Perhaps I will suffer a bit, and come back more grateful for the hardships I have in my own life back home.

I am sure that, wherever in the world we are, there is right and wrong brought to our attention for a variety of reasons.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb