The Best Laid Plans


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I really enjoy watching the varied reactions that people get on their face when they find out I’ve chosen India as a vacation destination. Most people are curious about my reasons why I chose India and then seem genuinely interested to learn that India has so many different climates, such a long history, and a diverse culture.

When I decided its time I finally got myself on a vacation I surfed the internet to look at the options available to me, at a budget I could handle. I definitely wanted to witness a culture that was completely different from the one I have lived in for the past 43 years. I soon found out that for the same amount of money I could either whirlwind Europe for a week, or spend a month in Asia. I narrowed down my choices to Cambodia, Thailand, and India, and decided that instead of living in fear that I’d end up lost somewhere in cambodia looking for accommodations with no local language skills, India it is.

I've attended two business trips to India in the past, and both times i had the feeling there was so much more to this amazingly loud and complex country than what I saw, and I remain curious. On both of those trips, we stayed at gorgeous five star hotels and the standard of service was truly sublime. This trip though, I hope be less insulated from the 'real' India beyond the walls of Bollywood and my own western culture.
,
Okay I’ll admit, i have reserved my stay at the Taj Mahal Hotel during the times I am in Delhi - but hey, that nice service IS technically an excellent example of Indian culture & hospitality.

I’m keeping this travel blog to share my trip with my friends & family but also for me, as my record of this trip. Before I depart, I’ll lay out my domestic travel plans in a new blog so we can compare how well my best laid plans panned out in the end.

Happy Easter!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb