Why India?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
October 31st 2005
Published: November 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

You can read this in an earlier entry but this is the tall and short of it...I don't know why. Because it's there. Because it was an intuitive hunch. Because I wanted to go to India in style and bow down to it. Because I wanted to wake up mornings and say, as I did, "Good Moring India"....because I wanted to bow to people and say, NAMASTE. Or maybe I had a hunch I wanted to visit before things got too hairy over there. Take your pick.

OK. "Why India?" It was purely intuitive. I was checking links on the site, craniocean.com and saw myss.com on it. i checked out the myss link and saw the news about a trip to India in 5 star hotels. It seemed a nice way to go...but before I knew it, intuition said to go. The feeling of intuition (even if a voice) is very different from the voice(s) of the brain of logic and reason. I put down a modest deposit but didn't have money for the rest of the trip. Then...a client gave me a five thousand dollar tip. What was I to do with all that exta money? At the moment,
Before the RideBefore the RideBefore the Ride

Elephant Riders, Jaipur
I thought India.

Also...from intuition I 'Heard" I could only go on the trip if I came back right away. This bummed "James" out.

After he signed up for the trip (he didn't really know it was expensive) he'd heard of others spendin months there. It seemed the thing to do when one goes to India. When the five thousand dollar tip showed up, I recalled that if I went, I would have to come back right away. Thus has one heard from intution.

The tour with Myss and the New Age Ladies was the nutty and kooky part. It was like going to India with two weeks worth of the customers at the Bodhi Tree Bookstore in LA, a book store where I used to work for many years..made famous, the legend goes, by Shirley McLaine in Out on A Limb. And they were just...women in a group. Guys in a group are always a lot easy to flow with, like, guys cover your back in these situations.

The last Myss tour was to Egypt with over 400 ladies. James only found this out after sign up...it was disconcerting. There were over one hundred ladies on this tour. The buses were like white UFOs passing through the streets of India, with the loudest horns.

I had a lot of other cool elephant photos but they were in my india guidebook. I loaned my guiedbook--on request-- to the woman reaching across the aisle on the bus (below) and later she left it and all "James's" elephant photos on an airplane trip within India...when James ran back to the airport terminal to try and recover his guidebook, "James" took a lot of heat from Mr. Anger Issues. James was holding up the whole tour by doing that!

Not that it mattered, we'd already been waiting on the buses after the plane ride for half an hour...they were the coolest photos ever taken of "James" and taken by indian guys with cameras along the elephant ride..who later...tried to sell them to us tourists after the elephant ride...for about 100 Rupies each, or 2 dollars each. anyway, it hurts--elephant pride doffed by an unconcsious, overweight woman--and those photos are lost...but here are one or two taken by "the"" camera.

(Carolyn does not want us to say "me" or "mine" so I will try that out as we go along)

Whooops! In the elephant photo, the cart is about to fall off the back, the palaquin. Didn't.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb