Mumbai and Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
October 21st 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mumbai was fun- I was re-united with friends from work- both from Montreal and from the Mumbai office. Eversince I knew that the offshoring project was happening, I wanted to go to India. I came close to going for work twice, but, to my disappointment, those travel plans fell through. So you can only imagine my excitement when I saw the offices. There are no real pictures of the office- the security guard made me erase them- something about the building being important...national security...whatever.

I stayed with a Montreal friend in the very nice 5-star hotel Taj Lands End. When I entered the hotel- I re-entered the Western world again- it was nice, but you don't experience India living like that. Perhaps I never got to go to India for business reasons because I was meant to see the real India by getting laid off and going as a tourist. After 2 weeks in India with the tour, I was comfortable enough to take auto-rickshaws by myself to get around. But as many people have said, Mumbai was not India- it was true in some sense; it was a rare sight to see women dressed in saris and there were no cows stopping street traffic. But there was Bollywood!

After one week of rest, I went down to the South of India in Kerala. I wanted to see the tea plantations and after many rave reviews by my local friends, the backwaters of Kerala. Kerala was different from northern India- there were Catholic churches and the dominant communist party- wierd.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

No beef served at this MacDonalds!No beef served at this MacDonalds!
No beef served at this MacDonalds!

My friend watched me wolf down in Chicken Maharaja Mac- replacement for Big Mac? Sooo good...
Terrace at the Mumbai officeTerrace at the Mumbai office
Terrace at the Mumbai office

Notice the charming unfinished bridge in the background... My replacement paid for my cafeteria lunch in lieu of my consulting to him for quarter-end LOL! That's not my replacement in the photo BTW...
Mahalaxmi Dhoby GhatMahalaxmi Dhoby Ghat
Mahalaxmi Dhoby Ghat

Dhoby Ghats (place where clothes are washed)- "some 5000 men use rows of open-air troughs to beat the dirt out of thousands of kg of soiled clothes brought from all over the city each day"- Lonely Planet
Elephanta IslandElephanta Island
Elephanta Island

Rock-cut temples dedicated to the god Shiva
Shopping for pants- this is a size small?Shopping for pants- this is a size small?
Shopping for pants- this is a size small?

For this type of pant- the size is determined by the measurement of your calves- not your waist.


18th September 2008

Hiii
Hi Anna, Nice to see u in India. I also stays in Mumbai, and it's a wonderful city with a great spirit. I saw pics of Kerala, the most educated state of India, I had never been there but I got inspired to see beauty of Kerala I eill try to viit there. Best luck for your rest of the tour.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb