Diving the Maldives


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
October 30th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Instead of taking 6 hours from Mumbai to get to the Maldives, it took me 16 hours! Sri Lankan Airlines never explained the reasons for the delay. 10 of us missed our connecting flight from Colombo to Maldives and were put up in the airport hotel. I seriously thought that the liveaboard would leave without me and was forced to take interest in my travel insurance for reimbursement. Luckily for me, the weather was very bad in the Maldives as well and they decided to dock at the airport habour for the night and only leave the next day.

Advice to avid but novice divers: make sure you are diving in the right season.

I booked a one-week liveaboard and to my recollection, only 2 dives were memorable. Although the bad weather saved me from missing this dive excursion- it was raining and cold. I felt sorry for the people in those gorgeous cabins in the middle of the ocean- no sun no fun. I hoped that they had playing cards to keep themselves busy and that they got along with their companion! LOL! The liveaboard consisted of mostly Germans- some were upset since they wanted to dive the Ari Atoll- known divesite. The tour leader refused explaining that it would endanger his crew. So, we dove the North and South Male Atoll- which explains why only 2 dives were memorable.

I will need to go back and dive the known divesites in the right season.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb