Teaching


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
February 23rd 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The soothing words of Victor assuring me "You can just watch on the first day." At the Baba Matriculation School, had a quick introduction to the classes. No hope of remembering any of the 250 names. The day starts with chanting prayers
"School! Atention! Stand at ease! Attention!"
Then lots of Tamil. Or so I thought. But no, some of it is in Indian-English. This is different to English. And takes a day or so to get an ear into. Very staccato.
"I will always to my parents tachers and all others respect ..."
Mumtaj then introduced the 4th Standard and left me to teach them. Serious brain freeze. I'm supposed to educate 40 nine year olds. Right. Asked them all their names, gave up on repeating them after they told me, Played animal bingo. Then hangman. The wonders of hangman. The only issue is that they jump around alot and shout, as it is the only way they can be heard. And the school doesn't have four walls for every classroom this produces too much noise. Thankfully break came pretty soon and a little group of them ran up and cornered me pointing at their teeth saying
"pall."
It took me a moment to realise they were teaching me some tamil. A big question seems to be
"What is your father name?"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb