Sona Purana (Old is Gold)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bundi
November 29th 2014
Published: November 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Bundi, Rajasthan











November 25th 2014



You don't stop laughing when you grow old, you grow old when you stop laughing”

George Bernard Shaw



You can free yourself from aging by reinterpreting your body and by grasping the link between belief and biology”

Deepak Chopra



I grow old . . . I grow old . . .
I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled”

T.S. Eliot, The Love-Song of J. Alfred Prufrock





Vanities run deep in our personal responses to ageing.... and we are faced with truths that are unavoidable (funny that word contains the word 'void') about non-permanence: all things must pass including ourselves. It is what it is: 'suchness'. Once we accept and become comfortable with our inevitable death, a whole new world of possibilities emerge. Or so I find. Of course the young might say “yeah right.... you would think that or what?” Fair enough.... we do what we do, and what we do does, if little else, fashion our own illusions about reality. And a note about being young: I wish back then I didn't know what I don't know now.

I was confronted last week with the fact that while I look out from this body as a 25 year old still, that is not what others see looking in. I was on the Delhi Metro and it was standing room only. I was offered a seat by this middle aged guy. What? The older (I say older but.....) guy sitting next to it pointed at the sign 'This Seat Reserved or Senior Citizens'. Ouch. But this was mild in comparison to a past younger lover telling me that one of the reasons we should now 'just be friends' was because I was 'retired' and that she wanted to 'build something' (with someone not too much older than herself)..... Apparently I am beyond building anything.

And so, at a time when I accept I am getting old (well I am getting old but I don't often feel it), I find myself back in a favourite haunt.... Bundi. Appropriate, because what I really like most about this place is the timelessness of its back-streets and the old traditional hawalis to be found there. These residences in particular are the real charm of Bundi... with their colours and painted doorways, and their exquisite internal and external architecture. They are the 'gold' of Bundi, and many a visitor pleads with the locals to preserve this heritage at all costs..... that this is what will keep visitors coming. Too often modernisation is taken on blindly in the belief that this will somehow improve the attraction that is the oldness of a place. It's my fourth time here in as many years, both because I just like it and because it's on my 'route' when I travel back and forth between Pushkar and Himachal Pradesh.

Bundi is about 200 km south east of Ajmer and has stunning ornate forts, palaces, and step-wells (baoris). It became a princely state under Rao Deva Hada in 1342. The Taragarh Fort dates from this era and, together with Bundi Palace, covers the hillside overlooking the city. On one's first visit to Bundi, as the highway turns and the city comes into view, the vista of this hillside is mythical and mind-blowingly impressive. The Palace has on its walls and ceilings some of the most beautifully colourful and detailed murals and
Bundi Jazz livesBundi Jazz livesBundi Jazz lives

This guy plays in a wedding function band... the surprise was that he was a veritable Louis Armstrong on Jazz.... a real find ... felt like I was in the backstreets of New Orleans or perhaps Havanna
frescoes to be seen in India. In the middle of the city is the largest of some 50 baoris, the intricately carved Rani Ji ki Baori, 46 m deep and dating from the 17th century.

The city itself is pretty layback by Indian standards and apart from one small touristic section within the old fort precinct, has very normal everyday markets that wind through fort gateways and around baoris. People are genuinely friendly and helpful and interested in meeting foreigners, albeit many have very basic, if any, English. Outside in the countryside surrounding Bundi are some really lovely lakes and buildings, plus temple complexes (some up narrow valleys with waterfalls).

I seem to always stay at least one day longer than I had planned.... but there grows a strong urge to come back here one day and stay for many weeks. Maybe soon.

It would be a nice place to grow older in – a day at a time.






Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Krishna the chai guruKrishna the chai guru
Krishna the chai guru

Krishna's Chai shop is a bit of an institution in Bundi... he caters pretty exclusively for the tourists (at 30 rupees a cup of chai - but it is actually well worth it... exceptional preparation and combination of spices ... to perfection). And Krishna is a special energy... nice man.


29th November 2014

Ouch...
When I was younger, I would stop doing things before I got to the point that I couldn't because of age. I figured that this way I wouldn't feel I was growing older. But I recently turned 65 and now I want to do things just to see if I can. My wife thinks I'm nuts to want to walk the 500 mile Camino de Santiago de Compostela.
30th November 2014

camino
For a sprightly 65 year old it will be a walk in the park Bob. But seriously... so long as you are fit and well and have good shoes.... it's not that hard as it can be done at a very leisurely pace... just allow more time (like over a month) is my advice. I only did 150 km of the nortern camino (through Pays Basque) from St Sebastian to Santander ....in lousy Indian shoes that I had not worn in (and I had just spent 14 months in India wearing nothing but crocs). So.... some feet problem as expected. But with good boots/shoes.... great.
30th November 2014
Classic Step well wall

Step wells and incredible beauty!
Bundi looks like another one of your many spots of paradise--those step-wells are fascinating! It seems you know of many places to grow old in style and grace. When younger, I never thought of growing old and always went to the limit. My daily runs down mountain trails have left me with abused knees, informing me that wildness had a price, and that my body is on its downhill slope (and who is that old woman in the mirror?) But I agree with Shaw, as long as we laugh and enjoy life, age is relative. Still, we vagabonds do have to consider where we will grow old.
30th November 2014

Very Good one
Another amazing blog! I absolutely love to read your blogs and I look forward to every one of them! I am coming to India for Christmas, just wondering if you are going to be around the Bombay area.- Samuel David
1st December 2014

Christmas
Wow Samuel... very nice comments thanks. I will probably be in Madyha Pradesh riding along the Narmada River at the end of December but plans are fluid. Keep posted ... I do have good friends in Mumbai and had thought to get down there at some point but I think not any time real soon. How long are you coming for? Tourist? Where to? Let me know if you need any tips in case I know anything at all .... just email me: drielsmapaul50@gmail.com ciao
30th November 2014

Craving for Krishna's chai
Another fabulous chapter in the journey luvy................but I have to say, your blogs evoke a level of adventure envy :)............nevertheless, I'm coming to visit when the time is right. And about ageing - imagine having assumptions made about your ability (and sometimes I suspect intelligence) because of the wrinkles on your face!!!!! I prefer to think of them as the tracks of the journey. Gold hugs. Marguerite
7th December 2014

You grow old when you stop laughing
Life is about the journey and squeezing each ounce of joy and adventure out of it that we can. We love the fact that you always weave a bit of personal philosophy and observations into your travel blog and adventure. Enjoy the jazz....one day at a time.
25th November 2015

From a Bundi Fan
I'm glad to know that you love Bundi so much that you have visited it 4 times. My wife comes from Bundi. And I visit it too once a year. Did you go to Cenotaphs of Kings (Chorasi khambon ki chhatri)? That's a great place too...
25th November 2015

bundi
H e not. Tell me . More. drielsmapaul50@gmail. com

Tot: 0.621s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb