Hell of a journey


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bikaner
March 6th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Having sorted the ticket out, I spent the evening with a Canadian Gujarati, Rakeesh...good lad...discussed the merits of India as a first time visiter and his as a 2nd time albeit not for 3 years...he has family over here and was visiting for a month. Was not feeling that great...but decided to plough on as wanted to get out of Delhi.

Said goodbyes to Rakeesh and stumbled back to hotel to pack...trying to hold it together.

Then the fun began...decidely dizzy, and things spinning! Had to get auto to old delhi train station which is some way from Paharganj....or atleast it was the longest journey I've ever been on...India is a fantastic place a mixture or smells sound some good...some not so good! Feeling crap and smelling stuff you don't want to smell was not a recipe my stomach was keen to accept.

By the time I get to the station I am sweating buckets and I can hardly see straight. I stumble into the station feeling completely off my head! Attempt to find where my train goes from to no avail and then turn and see an Italian bloke...who seems to know I'm going to Bikaneer. I sting together a sentence to tell him that I'd apprecitate if he could help me make this journey which he kindly agrees.

I end up crashing out next to him apologising for the fact that I can't speak and concentrate on not throwing up.

The sweats continue and eventually we end up on the right platform with me kneeling over my back pack, again sweating buckets. I consider going back to the hotel but even the train and the loos were more appealing than getting back into an auto. Thankfully friendly Italian bloke was in the same carriage all the way to bikaneer so he was able to help.

The train doors finally open and I crash out, immodiumed up to the max I am now getting cramps as I am avoiding the toilet...more whiffs of that unique indian smell waft through the window.

I finally begin to feel better but am too scared of what will happen if I go to the toilet....eventually get to Rewari where we have to change trains...at which point as I'm leaving the train I see a sink and my body decides to get rid of toxins inside of it...thankfully only from the speaking end....although I know I can talk out of my arse!

Post puke sweats start again but feeling decidely better....the exciting bit was crossing an empty train and the tracks to get to the bikaneer train. Feeling better I visit my first squat bog in 7 years...actually not that bad! technique still there!

The constant train horn blowing to clear cattle keeps me awake most of the night but cramps gone and by the time I get to bikaneer I'd perked up loads. Said my thanks and goodbyes to Italian bloke..got his name but can't remember it.

Picked up by Vijay's guest house driver as I had booked a few days before.

Get to Vijay's to a warm and sympathetic reception...free bottled water dished out and a instruction to go a recover in bed....I oblige without resistance and sleep the day through to 7, when Vijay knocks to see if I would like some dinner and to discuss if I'm up to a camal safari!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb