how lucky you are!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 5th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

yep...how lucky you are....to be able to fart with confidence....I've been pretty careful to avoid foods that I thought might lead to the inevitable Delhi belly...but it seems I haven't done a very good job! Needless to say that's all you'll want to know....I'm just looking forward to the 7 hour train journey I've got....still there's always immodium.

Still this is only recent news....yesterday I spent the morning trying to figure out a way to Nawalgarh....however the train now longer runs from Delhi...it's now goes from a station about 80K away....having been told I could get a bus direct and book it I headed down to the bus station in an auto...this time using the pre-paid booth...50rp didn't seem so bad.
Got there and was sent to three different counters before finally reaching counter number 6, where I was told that the bus went at 11.30 the next day...one a day and that I couldn't prebook! Still everyone was helpful, just not that accurate. There's more later! Oh and the bus look like a real

So I'm thinking I'm near another station I'll try my luck there see if this train really isn't going...to which I find after being called into the enquiry booth it is and it leaves from Old Dehli station at 11pm each day....Great I think and go to the booking office to get a ticket.

At which point the International Tourist office started to look like a more appealing option...busy but not as busy.

So I decide to head to the Lotus temple for some quiet meditation, again used the pre-paid taxi...which for the distance (not that far) was the same price as from the centre of town?

The Lotus temple is really cool...very serene...it's a place that is all inclusive of all faiths, there's 5 or 6 of them around the world. chilled there for a bit and then went on to Qutb Minar...this time driving a hard bargain on the auto.

Most notiable event was the charming Indian lady who was strategically placed in the best photo spot, waiting for unsuspecting me to mosey on over where she proceeded to point to the best photo angles...first one I took, then she grabbed the camera and insisted I was each of the following 5 she took! It was by picture number 3 that I realised that she was going to start asking for a tip...as usual...there were moans of not enough.

Got in an auto back to New Delhi for 50rp, which was effectively twice the distance I had gone in the morning...bargain!

Went to the train station for one final attempt to find out some decent info about how to get to Nawalgarh...after finally coming to terms with the fact the train wasn't running booked to go to Bikaneer.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

View From...View From...
View From...

my delhi window...a rare thing in delhi hostels!


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb