Midnight at the Oasis


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bikaner
March 6th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well not quite! No singing the camel to bed on my part

Having been convinced to go on a 3 day camal safari with two scots and a scouser....I was looking forward to a few nights away from it all without the hassle of touts.

A leisurely morning with a dry breakfast to keep the belly in check ended with me meeting my steed...the camel with no name.

Having spent the day getting used to the fact that the Great Thar desert was not quite the desert vision I had in mind...more like South Australia bush as you strart to head north.

We visited various villages to the joy of the children shouting dada and waving...(hello for kids)

My fellow companions are a very self sufficient 19 year old girl who left home at 16 and took herself through college to come out with all A's, taking a bit of time out before figuring out what to do next...an aspiring hippy who was into the whole goa trance scene....which got me to thinking how hypocritical modern day hippy life is...on one had organic, ethical, peace and love combined with the underworld of drugs! Although we did
Just after I'd got offJust after I'd got offJust after I'd got off

Now I know I might carry a few extra pounds but this is ridiculous
agree that if drugs were not illegal there would be no underworld...and that could have sparked a whole other debate.

And a couple from Perthshire who were taking some time out before settling down with a 16 month trip...lots of talk of SE asia started me back to thinking about June/July and going to Vietnam etc.

Tina (the wannabe hippy) was recovering from being ill....was on a budget and so had taken the cheaper option on the trip...whereas the rest of us had gone for the deluxe version...Vijay had said to run two trips in one wouldn't be viable so she lucked in and got the same grub as us...and boy did she eat!

First night was uneventful, "slept" in tent, wind was picking up so not much sleeping done...ended up playing cards to a namless game we decided to call "Killer Queen". Oh and discovered what getting saddle sore is!

Second night Vijay came to visit...bringing his troupe of Loti muscians to entertain us...he's a great PR man! Only problem was ending up in the middle of a sand storm. The first of the season! Started to rain...and with Tina in the cheap seats sleeping outside it wasn't long before I did the honourable thing and let her crash in the tent.

The Camel men did little to sort her out, getting themselves sorted under tarporlin first.

The next morning I awoke to see the carnage of ripped tents from the effects of the storm and a battered camel crew.

By this time I'd pretty much had enough and was counting the hours back to Bikaneer. Camels are great, they hold themselves very proudly, but my arse was telling me enough was enough and I was not sitting very proudly at all.

Back at the hotel just spent the night chilling to head out the next day to explore the Karni Mata Temple and Junagarh fort in Bikaneer itself

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb