SEA URCHINS - Bhubaneswar inland (non-sea) Chapter


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The gear!The gear!The gear!

I didn't bring swim gear with me - no matter - the pool has a gear drawer from which come all manner of swim wear for a modest price.
Before I came to Bhubaneswar - I had the good fortune of meeting a fellow volunteer colleage named Anouck - who happened to be into swimming AND told me (much to my initial disbelief) that Bhubaneswar had a great swimming pool where you could do laps.

So… I quickly appointed Anouck as my ‘buddy’ (this is actually a formal arrangement for new volunteers to have a existing volunteer to be their guide in their new placement). The quid pro quo, I argued, was that I was buying an Enfield motor bike and would be able to give Anouck lifts to and from the pool each day.

So…. When I got to Bhubaneswar I applied for membership at the Bijou Patnaik Swimming Pool Cum Sports Complex at Kalinga Stadium (I don’t know who you are Mr Patnaik but thankyou!)

This was a bit of process actually - first get the application form from the pool - then go and get 3 stamp sized photographs, get a Doctor to do a health check, then come back and do a swimming test.

The health check was interesting - while the doctor I saw objected to me pre-filling that part of
The lovely AnouckThe lovely AnouckThe lovely Anouck

No - she hasn't grown funny hands - she is a serious swimmer and has these training aids.
the application with my name and blood group (this was most improper - it had to be in HIS writing and a test must be done for the blood group) - when it came to my status re: eplileptic fits he simply asked me “do you suffer from epileptic fits?” - so obviously I am not allowed to know my blood group (which after all could lead to drowning in the pool) without independent verification - but I am certainly an authority to confirm or deny epilepsy unilaterally!

Then there was the swim gear to buy (at the pool) - total cost about Aus$8 - including swim cap, ear plugs and budgie smugglers (wot us aussies call brief swim gear - go figure!). So I am now the ONLY male swimming in Bhubaneswar pool who wears these - every else wears a kind of 'shorts' version of swimmers - a modesty thing I think.

The swim test? There was this young guy looking pretty distracted sitting on the steps near the pool. I asked him what I needed to do. He did not speak much English so pointed at the pool, indicating I should swim up and back
Anouck and yours trulyAnouck and yours trulyAnouck and yours truly

The swim coach rushed to the rescue as this was being taken - he thought some voyeur was snapping us without our permission.
(100 metres). So I did - at pace. I got out - asked what next and he points again at the pool and indicated I must to it again (another 100 metres). Hm…. After that he did seem to think I was not a drowning risk and agreed to sign the form to that effect!

Paid my 2,000 rupees annual membership (plus my first month’s 300 rupees fee) - and I was in!

So Anouck and I have been swimming most days together these past 2 months - although Anouck is leaving this week to live in another part of Orissa so...... I need another swim buddy at least!

Now the Sea Urchins? Who are they? I hear you ask. Well THEY know who they are. They are the swimming group I belong to back at Terrigal Beach where I swim each morning I can when I am in Australia - often with members of this ‘informal’ group the Sea Urchins(sorry - is that insulting guys? I mean there is an official annual Christmas party so that makes it pretty dam formal I guess!) . On weekends we all gather for coffee after our sea swim -
The poolThe poolThe pool

So this is at about 9am - not crowded at all!!
and this tends to be often more the main event than the swim itself (which is only logical really!).

So OK - Bhubaneswar pool is not exactly Terrigal Beach - but hey, ya gotta accept what you have (and this is a pretty nice thing to accept in this context!).

So now I am swimming 1 klm 6 days a week (they close the pool for cleaning each Monday). Its great - it’s rarely crowded, I always seem to get a lane to myself. I rarely bump into those swimmers who seem to prefer to swim across the pool instead of lengthwise! There are some swim squads with coaches. Then there are some pretty ordinary swimmers - but not terrible. It’s a great thing to have here - specially now that it’s so hot - to get on the bike and go swimming at 8 in the morning.

And - just for my vanity - I get lots of comments from Indians about having so much stamina - disbelief about my age etc. etc.. Great for the self esteem!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pool againPool again
Pool again

just the other angle


1st June 2010

I really enjoyed your "sea urchins" post. That stuff with the medical test and blood group is quite funny and interesting! My blog is looking for travel tips, photos, reviews, etc, to share. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
1st June 2010

Where is the coffee
Hi Paul, A great post. Good to see you're keeping up the stamina and showing off swimming attire as it should be. Just wondering what you do post swim. Didn't see any signs of a coffee shop. From Sea Urchin Robby xx
2nd June 2010

Swimming in a real pool!
Hey Paul, This looks like a 'real' pool!! Glad you've been able to find one for your morning swims. And it looks pretty quiet. Do you think they'll close it for 'winter'? Love the 'togs' and cap!! Dave
2nd June 2010

Biju Patnaik
Biju Patnaik is the late father of the current Chief Minister of Orissa and scion of the most famous family of Orissa, Naveen Patnaik. Biju was Chief Minister on and off in the 1970s and 1980s, I believe. And yes, it seems almost everything around here is named for him!
11th June 2010

You're looking pretty good there, pool boy. I note you spare us a full shot of you in your budgie smugglers...
15th June 2010

Swimming
Wow! The pool looks great. Must be good to cool down and keep fit.
15th June 2010

Next....
Still loving the blog Paul but what's happened after June 1st???

Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 19; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb