Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Update for family. Couldn't get a flight today so i go tomorrow morning to Dharmasala. Thanks to Stacey helping me get the address for a guest house in Delhi ( with this i was able to arrange a cab ride). I was sitting in the airport looking through glass doors at about 1000 taxi drivers all salivating to take me as their mark. Delhi is infamous for cab scams. So with the address in hand i walked out into the ring and choose a nice looking driver who then told me he could not take me all the way. I called the hotel and had them yell at him with no avail. Then i started asking him about his family to plead that he not scam me too bad. Told him I have kids.

So, i was let out in what looked like an alley, in at the dark, and told to walk 5 minutes and turn left. Bikes, people, rickshaws, vendors cooking things and selling things. Noisey, busy and that order in the chaos that India offers. More exotic than a hollywood set, but i am getting better at such things and strolled down then bazaar in no particular hurry. I called SQ two let her hear the craziness and then eventually found a policeman who walked me to my left turn. The "turn" was a dark narrow ally that eventually curved around to some internet cafes, and a guest houses. If it was anyone other an a policeman there is no way i would have made the walk down the alley. And here i am safe and sound. Actually it is a cool little hangout. Except my stomach is starting to hurt....

Off to bed then early flight north. Blog from the mountains tomorrow if I can.

Advertisement



10th November 2010

Wonderul
Ian: I am reading every entry with great interest. I wish I could be there, but it's great you can do it alone. I sense you getting stronger by the day.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb