Into the north


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
November 11th 2010
Published: November 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit i was a little nervous flying into the Himalayans with no place to stay and no plans. But that was part of my plan for India; let God teach me. Stacey helped me a little at the airport to scope one guest house and a potential yoga centre. So with some lovely KFC in my belly I flew out of Delhi into the north.

Outside of the airport I negotiated a taxi to a place called Mcleod Ganj; the neighborhood of Dharmasala i thought i would stay. 550 rupees seemed steep ($12) until i found out it was a one hour ride up one lane roads high high high into the hills. It is mountainous here with little villages dotting the roadways and hills. The cab driver fast became my friend and jokingly offered to let me drive. I declined and he admitted he doesn't eat until after driving. No kidding. Not so happy for that spicy KFC i ate.

Well, with my American perspective i thought i would stop by the Yoga centre first and then hit the hotel. I did not have an addrss and only had name of the Yoga place. After an hour of driving high into the hills he started yelling out his window, "buhubuhub Riski Yoga". Then on we would go. At times he had to get out of the car to negotiate the passing of another car coming the other way. On and on we went. Finally i decided to call the Yoga place. Thankfully someone answered and told me sure i could come STAY there. I gave the phone to the driver for directions and on we went. One hour later i insisted he give up and let me out in a village i was sure was close. He felt bad and i felt bad for him. There was a small group discussion in the market about where they all thought i was supposed to be. Shebaum, the yogi, said he was coming down anyway and would meet me. Problem was i ended up in the wrong village. So i grabbed a rickshaw and headed on, thankfully Shebaum texted me the name of the village and i was within 2km.

Finally, i arrived at the right village and was slowly realizing that there was not going to be a "stopping by" to check out Riski Yoga. Shebaum was waiting and looked as freakish as they come. Long white hair, red dot and flowing white robes. Worse he had two buff gurus with him. I assessed i could take Shebaun if i had to, but one of the gurus looked pretty authentic. So, fight was not an option and flight was not an option so I agreed to check myself into the facility.

Beemer the guru was instructed to carry my bag while Shebaum went off to the market with the other dude. I asked Shebaum if i could buy him a coke before we trekked up to the ashram. He politely told me that there is no tobacco, no caffeine, no meat and no alcohol allowed. Okay. I didn't even know how much this was going to cost! So we hiked up the path winding through the villages, up and up for about two km.

After a little boy asked for my bear whistle, a goat chased us and a few rest breaks we made it to this little hut like place way up on the hillside. Other houses and huts dot the landscape and it is so quiet and peaceful i feel happy and glad to be here. Beemer and i are fast becoming friends, he makes me tea and we talk while looking out at the hills.

So, i have a little room. Very basic and shared bathroom. $2.50 per night. It appears the yoga is around $600 rupees a day, but i am not fully sure ($15). Meals must be extra but i do not know. 6am prayer/mediation, 7:30-9:30 yoga, breakfast, then more prayer and then another 2 hours of yoga then lunch. Hellllllllllp.

Then Beener and i are going to climb the mountain. He told me the view is great and there are little hill temples along the way. A crazy band then started up from a village complex above us as the work and school day is over. Trumpets, drums with a lively happy beat. Beemer told me he sometimes plays in the band. It appears i am going to share village life for a few days.

I walked down about a km to an Internet cafe in a lower village. The sun is starting to set, so i need to start the hike back up the hill to the ashram. I wiill have to deal with the goats alone. Hope all is well in Canada. As crazy adventurous as all of this is for me i think much during the day of how great my life is and what a privilage it is to take a small recess like this.

Advertisement



11th November 2010

Play in The Band
Sounds like you are having an interesting time. It's really good to hear you have not had any problems and you've been able to stay out of trouble. Why don't you dig down deep and pull out those band techniques and join the band in the village? Keep safe, and try some Indian food, KFC just won't be a good story in years to come. All the best.
12th November 2010

Ian!! This is so perfect! I'm so happy for you.
12th November 2010

Yogi Carmicheal
Sounds like you should have practiced more on your Wii fit before heading 'into the north'.

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb