Goa North Now


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Heading North
One more yoga session with Cyril and i headed to the airport to exit Southern India.  As a going away gift he twisted and pushed my upper body into a pretzel-like position.  It was awkward and exhilarating all at the same time.  

There is far greater security in the Indian airports then i expected and I found myself stumbling around trying to figure out where to go and what to do.  For example, you pass police security just to enter the airport. I did not have a printed ticket (problem).  You scan your checked luggage separately and then take it to a ticket counter to get checked onto the plane (not the best of systems as I had possession of the bag after it was screened).  After that you get a boarding pass and head through another security.  I was anxious as the cab was 45 minutes late (a friend of a friend was called for the job) and the drive took over an hour. Once I passed all of these obstacles i was told my flight was delayed two hours.

I should pause and explain pricing here.  Yoga is crazy expensive at 500 rupies ($12.50);
Private hotel room $4-900 rupees ($10-20 dollars).
45-60 minute cab ride $5-600 rupees ($12-15).
Nice meal at restaurant $150 rupees ($3-4).
Rental of exotic motorbike $450/day ($11).
Flight on air plane 2.5 hours (70 dollars).
11 train ride first class $1000 rupees ($25-30).  

My plan is to head as far North today as possible.  Into the Himalayan mountains. I have a ticket to New Delhi and zero interest in exploring another mega-city, so my plan is to try and hop another flight from there north.  There are two mountain cities that I could head towards; Dharmasela or Manila.  Either will do and i have guest house names in both that i can call if the flight materializes.  Otherwise it is Delhi for moi.  Probably should see the Taj Mahal anyway.

This has been a travel adventure of a lifetime, but the true adventure of my life has been a girl called Stacey Ewasiuk.  I am so thankful that she has supported this venture and miss her so much it hurts inside.  I know now that 26 days is more than enough for me to taste India, so I have moved my flight home 4 days earlier arriving Monday evening instead Friday.  That means i will have to keep a good pace as i have only one and a half weeks left.  The bonus is that I will get to serve Allison and her friends at her birthday party "fancy dinner extravaganza".  This is the galla event of the year for Allison and it only happens once every 365 days.  I must find her a special birthday gift.

I hope the north is cooler.  India nabs Australia for heat.  I drink 2-3 litters of water a day, but rarely go to the bathroom.  How gross is that?

Every 50 meters in Goa was something religious.  I am serious about that; it could be something small like a roadside cross and candle, or large like a crumbling two story church but either way religious markers dot the landscape.  What i didn't see, even in the early morning, was faith activity.  This feels like a failing for me, as that was a major goal in coming here.  Inspiration.  Faith recharging.  

When and how do these people exercise their faith?  Evidence abounds of Hindu, Muslim (lessor so), Krishna and Christian.  Often many are blended together like in the reception to my hotel.  Religious items, pictures and symbols here and there.  My hope is that in the more Buddhist north i will be able to observe and learn more about the India's faith.  To feel like i can share in the optimism of a deeper and more purposeful meaning for life.

I also hope to continue my travels around the countryside on a two wheeled friend.  To hike some trails and improve upon my dismal yoga skills.  First i have to get there.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb