Planes, trains, and civil unrest


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trying to leave Delhi has been somewhat of a challenge. Civil unrest in Rajasthan (where I am trying to go) has caused large groups of tribes to stage a protest to demonstrate their political will. Ingeniously they did so by sitting on the railroad tracks (rail being India's primary mode of transport), and then blocked the streets as well, screwing up the major routes between Delhi and Bombay. For the past several days they have been threatening to march on Delhi and effectively seal the city off by road and rail. Today that happened, but I am told that a riot broke out and the police have cleared them all away.
Needless to say, a train or taxi to Jaipur was not an option. Luckily though, I found a plane ticket for about 60 bucks that leaves tomorrow night, so that's what I am gonna do.

Some good news is that my friend Jay back in the ATL set me up with one of his friends that has family in Jaipur. His friend has arranged for a car for me for the entire weekend!! Sweet deal. I am stoked about getting out of Delhi. I like it here but I know there is much more to India than the capital city.

Jaipur is only for a few days. I might meet with a state official on Mon but I don't know yet. Really it's a weekend vakay before heading by train to Udaipur farther south. There I will spend a week meeting with a few partner NGOs and then on to Ahmedebad.

Not a very exciting blog I know, but I promised my Mom I would write one today so that she can stop worrying that I'm dead. Hope all is well stateside--T

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb