Leaving Delhi--Heading to Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got my luggage back today. I had to sign for it well actually, the man sort of ordered me to, and to say it was in perfect condition before allowing me to look at it. When I had sorted out the paperwork and checked the bag I asked was that everything--to which he replied with a head wobble--I didnt think that actually existed but it does and it can mean anything from yes or no to f#*k off!!!!

I've had enough of Delhi, and have decided to change around my itinery a wee bit, so instead of doing north and west India, I'm just going to head down south and work my way back up. I have to go to Delhi again in order to catch my flight to Singapore and it would be crazy to leave without seeing the red fort!!!but for now Im happy to call it quits.

The touts and scams can seem quite unrelentless, you shake one off and another one comes around the corner, but as long as you give them the silent treatment, they do eventually leave you alone, it also helps to just pretend you dont speak English and talk in a different language. We were being followed once by this guy who was trying to take us to "a tourist office' (the only genuine one in Delhi is on Janpath street so dont be fooled), he asked us where we were from so Finn said 'as Gaelige?' meaning 'in Irish?', the guy replied 'ohhh, as Gaelige, lovely country, beautiful place', we burst out laughing, he got annoyed and left, thankfully (:

We flew with Kingfisher airlines from Delhi to Goa (they're also known for making Kingfisher beer), fantastic airline! we got fed two yummy meals and were handed out bottled water (they also make Kingfisher water) every 30mins or so. The plane landed in Mumbai to let passengers off and others get on, so you just have to stay in your seats while they clean around you. Landed in Goa about 2 and half hours after leaving Delhi. I had booked tickets only the day before and the cost was approx 80 euro, and seeing as that included 2 meals and about 7 bottles of water ohhh and a free pen I think thats money well spent (:

Advertisement



Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb