Delhi Day 2/3


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Spent alot of time today travelling around to some of the sites in Delhi---The Lotus Temple is a definite must, it's such a serene and calm escape for the city. When in said the prayer room you must not speak which is nice as finn got to keep schtum for a while (: I'm kidding.
Some young children asked to have their photo taken with me, which i would never do as a) I trust no one and b) I hate having my photo taken, but they ment well and their parents were there too, afterwards however some tourist guys made a snide remark about the lovely kids putting on an accent and saying '50 rupees' Unfortunately there are so many touts and guys just trying to con you, that when someone genuinely wants to help or does something kind it's difficult to accept it and not to view it with suspicion.

Also, as a woman, I am finding Delhi a little bit difficult, I was warned about the attitude of local men to foreign women and have tried my best to avoid drawing any attention to myself by keeping covered (which is difficult as seeing as I still dont have my bag and I'm limitied to a long sleeved t-shirt and long linen trousers). However, I have had my picture taken by strangers and been touched and rubbed against even when my boyfriend is right beside me, which is kinda putting a downer on Delhi for me as much as I try not to let it.

The India Gate is lovely spot to commemorate those that died in WW1, much like the one in Stephen's Green in Dublin lol but with more touts trying to stick flags on you and charge you, as well as girls trying to paint your hands with henna.

Food is still real good especially for veggies loads of different options to choose from.

My bag is due to arrive at some point tonight if it does then I will leave for Chandigarh tomorrow, if not then I may have to stay longer here in Delhi. So keep your fingers crossed for me.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb