Adventures in Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have been in Delhi since April 4th and it has been and adventure. We went on a city tour with Panicker Travels and it was great. We saw lots of points of interest in the city. My favorite was the Lotus Temple. We also took a tour to Agra to see the Taj Mahal and yes it is beautiful and probably one of the most visited sites in India. That being said prepare yourself to being mobbed by agressive touts and double standards when it comes to gate fees. Indians pay 20rupees and foriegners pay 750rupees and no I didn't make a typo. I guess if I compare the price to admission costs at home it is alright but still. So back to the touts they don't take no for an answer and keep bugging you till you leave or they cling on to another tourist. They all assume were rich and in some respects we are compared to their level of income. It just frustrates me at times when the price doubles based on the color of ones skin. Things that I have bought elsewhere were half the price they are here in Delhi and then they say no bargaining. Arrgh I am trying to be respectful and sometimes I feel frustrated. Enough ranting! Delhi seems more organized than other cities in India and less chaotic. Markets are fun to browse and check out a the handicrafts to modern technology. We picked up a cell phone on the cheap and it costs the same as the STD to call home. Such a deal! Well we are here for a few more days and then were off again. I hope everyone is doing well cheers
Jeannie& Alex

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb