Old Delhi Day 2


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK so last nights sleep was both rejuvenating and as fulfilling as seeing a 3 eyed kangaroo with no ears trying to wear sunglasses. I was awoken every 2 hours by the fan choking out and weird noises coming from the room next to me. By 6am I gave up and decided it was time to head out. Excitement had grown on me and with what sleep I had gotten all my old adventurous feelings came running back to me like a fly to poo. With yesterdays wham of an arrival out the way It was time to go see what the fuss is all about with this country. I learn I'm staying on an alley just off from Karol Bagh. Which after further investigation is actually not a bad thing. Although the area is not really recommended for solo travelers to be staying it is a great place to get a feel for good proper markets or bazaars. I decide to head out into the heart of Delhi and see what I can find. I begin walking the streets. This is amazing. This is exactly what I wanted it to be like. Broken concrete houses, cows walking the roads, dogs, chickens and people going about there business early in the morning. I'm the only person out walking the streets but there's plenty of action around every corner with people going about there daily business. I spend a few hours just people watching in total awe of what I was seeing. Every 200 meters there's a new smell or a food I've never seen before. I started playing the smelling game. Was it Urine? Was it Poo? Or was it the combination of Poo and Urine? Id award myself double points for guessing the meal the night before. I finally find a rickshaw who I ask to take me to Connaught Place. He takes me as far as the metro and tells me it would be quicker (I don't think he could be bothered driving across town after realizing I wasn't interested in his offerings of discounted ruby's). OK so Delhi has a metro. No riding on the roofs and no livestock. I cram in and head up to Connaught Place an area that has a shady reputation but a buzzing backpacker scene; oh we shall see.

I get there grab some breakfast then spend the next 2 hours just walking around. The amazing thing about this place is that at every street corner somethings happening or something will happen. Most often it is directly influenced by yourself; people selling you items, wanting to talk to you, wanting to scam you. It's all good fun and a test of your mental awareness in using the term "f*** off!" How long can I last? How persistent do these touts need to be?

I get an awesome ride on an auto rickshaw, the driver has no fear and neither do I. We are in on this ride together. He has his foot to the pedal and he has my full support. Sliding around the roads like a game of Mario Kart he drops me of at the National Museum and is on his way. Wow, a genuine driver. Hard to find. Spend a few hours at the museum then go to the Gandhi museum / house where he was murdered and spent his last few days. Grueling stuff. Saw India gate and all the parliament buildings. Again, grueling stuff. Hitch a ride to the Train station to get the train to AGRA. What is Agra? Who is Agra? Are we all Agra? No it's a city 2 hours south of Delhi that beholds the Taj Mahal. Let the fun times begin as my train leaves 10.20am the next morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb