Delhi Day 1


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in Washington 4 days ago I was thinking what it would take to topple the past 4 months. I was expecting so little out of going and working at a summer camp in the US and what came out of it was nothing short of amazing. Meeting the most awesome people who welcomed me into there homes and took me out whenever possible. Touring New York, Philadelphia and Washington and learning that there is more to American food than McDonalds. Like deep fried Buffalo Wings and Phillie Steaks. But... with everyone leaving and going back to collage and or back to the UK I didn't want to just dwindle around the US until my money ran out. I've always wanted to go test myself in India. And so I booked my flight to New Delhi to leave in 3 days from New York.

A 13 hour flight from New York to New Delhi flying India Air was an experience in itself. The smell of spices even on the place and the varied conversations with people where definitely good preparation for when I landed. I can also add 'curry' to the list of airplane foods I've tried and tested. Some reviews of Air India include -

"Plane appeared old and fragile. Our seat had masking tape on its arm and wouldn't stay in the upright position"

"Both outbound and inbound planes were tired, scruffy, and very dirty. Bits of food were on the floor. The seatback pockets were full of crumbs and bits of food. On each trip one of the overhead reading lights didn't work. One of the seats would not recline."

and

"Flight was in poor state, not cleaned at all. Bathroom flush was not working, another bathroom overflowed. planes outdated and tatty with minimal leg room in economy. Staff member not willing to help or not allowed to use other toilets in front! In flight service was poor."

For me they get a damn good review. When asking what I'd like to drink after take off I asked for a refreshing ice cold coke. The lady came back with 2 bottles of Bacardi and an extra can of coke with a smile.

Landing in Delhi. No real idea what to expect. I was expecting to be met by a person from the hotel I'm staying at. The air is hot, humid. People are doing renovations in the arrival lounge. Laying concrete right where people are leaving the plane. Welcome to India. I get out into the Arrival lounge. People everywhere flying gestures and ushering people to taxis and auto rickshaws. I meet my driver who was an Indian guy no older than myself. He takes me out to this old rusty piece of shit vehicle. We leave the airport and that's when it hits me. What the fuck have I signed up for? People urinating on the streets, homeless people everywhere, every traffic light stop there are people with missing limbs and kids running around naked, skinny as a rake begging for money. We drive further and further into literally scraps of neighborhoods. Houses made out of tin sheets and tarp. Crowds of people standing around huddled watching small TV's. People showering out in the streets in puddles of water from the rain. I've never seen such poverty yet to these people, it was all normal. I start thinking up extreme scenarios in my head. Imagine these people do this all the time. Pick up lonesome backpackers, take them to fucked up parts of town and then demand large amounts of money. I was bigger than both of them but I bet they have rocket launchers and wild wolfs at there disposal. We finally arrive in Old Delhi. Without sleep for 24 hours and the extreme culture shock of arriving in this place, there's no real let up to see the hotel is some apartment down a dark alley hanging of a bazaar. The man who picked me up soon starts to become my best friend. At least, his sly manner made me wary the whole time but he offered to put my bags away then show me town. My room seemed OK enough with a bed, toilet and shower so I pay for the room and head out with my new "friend" . Of course after an hour walking around the bazaar and knowing full well that my new "friend" is simply seeking me to go to his preferred shops I tell him I'm going to bed and plan on never seeing him again. He says yes yes and hurries me into a TV shop. What am I meant to do with a 20" Plasma TV whilst I'm backpacking India? I get back to the "hotel" as tired as a lamb sitting on a baking tray (aka a dead lamb waiting to be turned into a pork chop) I go to crash onto the bed when on closer inspection the thing is alive with bugs. They look like mini crabs. The whole sheet and pillows literally covered in the bastids. I look in the mirror and let out some violent language. I decided to offload a dump due to it going on 3 days of pile up. I sit down and yep, cockroaches running around having a field day. I crash out asleep at 9pm with my towel as a blanket and some clothes laid out on top of the crab looking infestation. Welcome to Incredible India 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb