Day 1-Travelling to India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Karol Bagh
July 20th 2014
Published: July 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hull - Manchester - Heathrow - Delhi


Day one-Travelling

Phew wow.... A very hard star to this journey! I have already named it my, 'Exotic Hotel' journey. A pun on the similarly named film!

I had two very difficult conversations with Jonny Crooks and my Dad before I left. John updated me on Di's medical situation, which I am struggling to leave behind, but I know Di was keen for me to do this trip for so many reasons; then my Dad, given the situation with the very recent passing of my Mum, it's hard to leave him behind too! I know it is hard for everyone involved on both counts.

I am aware that all my friends and family want me to continue with my plans; the hard reality is that there is nothing I can do about any of it. This is a very, bitter- sweet trip! I left Hull with a fractured heart, and sadness.

So here I go!

I was very chuffed when weighing in my backpack.... Only 12kg..... Well happy with that!

I am sat comfortably in the departure lounge at Manchester T3, thanks to the wonderful Beth Reeder! Thank you Beth for getting me here in good time. I am Hoping that Mary Helen, the Hungarian Grandma guided you home safely, without shouting at you too much! Also, thanks to Claire & Dimitri for putting things into place for this to happen. Even though it was because Claire forgot in the excitement of going to Disneyland!...lol

I have been fed and watered now, cheese and onion sandwich, a packet of crisps and a bottle of water! Just in case I don't get to eat later! Forward planning!

First flight, really quick! I was wondering if I may heave been just as well travelling down to Heathrow, but it did seem a bit easier...... Until.......the flight was delayed, no reason given! This meant that I actually missed my connecting flight from Heathrow..... Even though I was at the gate! GUTTED........and that's an understatement! I did have phone numbers on my iPad to contact the transfer company...... No answer! I started sweating, partly with anger that this had happened, and it appears to be completely acceptable, and then partly out of frustration as no one is answering the phone!

Finally I rang Belle from STA....YEAH.... She sorted it of me.......pphhheewwww. Now boarded the Virgin flight instead of the BA flight, here we go again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



21st July 2014

Day 1
Hi Lesley, great blog, all sounds perfect including the hotel! Look forward to your blogs. Best wishes for the rest if your trip x
22nd July 2014

Will be watching with interest. NO JUDITH????. Sad to hear news about Mam. Sadies died 1st Jan. That was fun trying to get flights etc
12kg Pack? Well done. Hate to think what you have not got with you.Take Care.Bill & Sadie.
30th July 2014

Day 1 & 2
sounds cool Leesal, I'm trying to catch up with all ya blogging lol.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb