It's 5pm Mumbai time, 5am my bodies time!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

24 hour journey

My points aren't exact, but you get the jist of how the flights went.

Family,
I arrived safely last night. As if you had any worries, and I'm being taken care of. The pastor of the church here picked me up, and today his son (he told me to call him Nic) has been chauffering me around the city. I didn't think anything would be more crowded and noisy than Cairo, but I think I've found it here in Mumbai (Bombay). I was extremely nervous about my work here, but as time passes, I feel more and more excited and at peace about God's will for me here. Truthfully, I kind of forgot why I was coming and seeing the city today reminded me why I want to spend my life in medical service. You can ask for more details on that revelation when I return. I'm truly in God's hands, and he's going to teach me the things I need to learn and he's going to use me as he sees best fit. Thankfully, it relies little on my own state of mind.

Just a few intenerary things: tonight I'm going to attend the youth group at the church. The service will be in Hindi, but it'll be a good time nonetheless. Tomorrow, I will worship again at the church, but it'll be in English. Monday, I will have the opportunity to visit some hospitals in Mumbai (super exciting), and then I fly to Nagpur in the evening. I should be in Umri by Monday night. From my understanding, Umri is not the same Umri as found by Google Earth which means I'm not too close to Agra. Also, I think it's a really small village (like in the thousands), which will be interesting. Dad, I'll really be able to experience the culture by getting out of the city and into the countryside. Exciting stuff. I love you all, and my spirits are encouraged everyday. Thanks for your prayers, and, mom, let me know if any checks come in for the hospital.

In Christ,
Brett

Advertisement



10th March 2007

Good to hear from you!
Hi Brett, I am watching Stone Newell play doctor as I type this. He is very cute and is really enjoying your doctor set :-) WE are having a good visit and Megan made it up last night also. I will try my best to take care of your high finances! Blessings and of course you are in our prayers. Love, Mom
10th March 2007

glad you made it safe brother....
Can't wait to here your Hindi accent when you return.
13th March 2007

great to hear
great to hear from you. I am assuming you are at Umri. Hope to here what your thoughts are on Umri. We will check tomorrow on how much money has come in. So is it really rural?? What was your impression on Bombay?? Grandma and pa went home this morning and made it OK. now things are quiet again with just mom and I. love you, dad
13th March 2007

good stuff
I know you missed the Real/Barca game, but youtube it when you get a chance. We miss you but love reading the updates. Stay safe, we are praying for you, Love, mIchael

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb