No sport is as confusing as cricket, and they freaking love it here


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Umri
March 13th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I made it to Umri. My time in Mumbai was fantastic. I spent some quality time with the church members there and began to forget that my real reason for coming was to come to Umri. The city reminded me a lot of Cairo with the pollution, smells, enormous amounts of people, poverty, etc... However, the culture was completely unique. The church times were great. I really developed a good feel for the many ministries going on. God is really doing some great things. They have a ministries to the blind, a leper colony, the slums nextdoor, services in four languages...the list goes on and on. It was great to see such passionate people and such a vibrant church. They are organizing a huge outreach called Harvest Mumbai which begins just after I leave, so everyone please pray for that. I can't wait to share all about it when I return.

Umri is as rural as expected. I bet the town has like 1000 people. They also have many ministries here: English school, nursing school, hospital, CCM (child care ministies, not the pseudo major at Greenville)...I think that I might be doing more observing than actual work which troubles me a bit. I came to serve, but my lack of education and training may prevent me from being as affective as I would like to be. I'm going to learn some great lessons medically and personally, and I know that God is going to teach me many things, but I'm afraid that I may receive much more than I give. Also, I don't want to be a burden at all. Hopefully, God will open doors for me to serve. There are two junior doctors here who are still in school and are about 24 yrs old. I talked with them for a couple hours tonight, and they will be good to have as companions. Also, I'll be able to learn a bunch, medically, from them. It will be an exciting month. Thankyou for your prayers and know that my spirits are very high right now. God has given me peace that this is the right place at the right time. Mom/dad please share some of this with the church and prayer group, also give me the names of anyone who has donated. Thanks for holding the fort until I get back. I love you all. (sorry no map this time, this computer is slow, Umri is about and hour SE of Yevatmal and 3 hours S of Nagpur)

In Christ,
Brett

Advertisement



13th March 2007

wow...rural
I think that being in the country will be good for you. Seems to me that it will totally be the true India without as many western influences. What do I know? I was in Guam aka USA jr. Love you and keep bloggin
13th March 2007

Loved reading your last two entries and am so glad you are enjoying it already. We will be praying for you and eagerly awaiting the next 'blogeries'.
14th March 2007

great to hear from you
these are great vinnettes of your experiences. it sounds like you are going to learn more than you thought. I think you will get a great feel for missionary doctors, first hand. Don't worry so much about serving. Just do what you can and what they will let you do. I will share these things with the church and pastors. Just keep giving us info. that we can share. it really helps when you paint pictures for us in regard to what it is like and also what the church is doing there and their ministry. Sounds like you are really going to get a feel for the culture. how's the food?? love you and we are praying for you, dad
14th March 2007

may be you will be a cricket expert :-)
Hi Brett, We received Sylvia's letter yesterday and dad will check with Chris today so we will see if we can get things moving. I will work on the other stuff today during lunch. I went to a workshop yesterday and the presenter was a K-State librarian from India. He said that Umri is in the center of India just like Kansas in the US. He talked about how rural it is and hoped you would enjoy his country. I know you will find some "work" to do, just may not be what you had in mind. Blessings to you as you follow God's leading. Love, Mom
15th March 2007

Cricket, confusing?
As an Englishman, please allow me to explain the rules of cricket, which are as follows: You have two sides: One out in the field and one in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out and when he's out he comes in and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out the side that's out comes in and the side that's been in goes out and tries to get those coming in out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out. When both sides have been in and out including the not outs, That's the end of the game. It really is that simple! Keep smiling! Mike
17th March 2007

cricket world cup
we just heard on NPR that India is hosting the Cricket World Cup RIGHT NOW while you are there!!! No wonder you are hearing a lot about cricket. dad

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb