Mumbai, last day


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
October 31st 2018
Published: October 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was a travel day, but I got in a small amount of sightseeing this morning before I left. The guide took me to the big museum in Mumbai which is generally still known as The Prince of Wales Museum, but is officially named for the 18th century warrior Chhatrapati Shivaji. The museum contains a wide assortment of items and one has the impression that wealthy citizens donated some of their stuff to the museum when they didn’t have room to store it any more. On the way to the airport, we stopped to look at Dhobi Ghat, the world’s largest outdoor laundry. I watched a man there washing items by hand, including beating them on the concrete wall, but the guide told me that there are large washing machines that do much of the cleaning. I flew to Dubai on Emirates Airways and am now happily ensconced in a room at the top of a tower that overlooks the sea. I arrived after dark, so I look forward to seeing what the view is like tomorrow morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb