Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 1st 2018
Published: November 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

This morning I took a picture from my window overlooking the Jumeirah Beach resort area. There is a big Ferris wheel and, beyond that, the Persian Gulf. I took a taxi to the central mosque at ten o’clock so I could go on the popular public tour. I’ve been in a few mosques, sometimes with guides, but have never had such a thorough review of what Muslims do there. Specifically the presenter showed us how he performs ablutions before prayer and how, exactly, he prays - first standing, then bowing, then kneeling. He encouraged us to stare and to take photos, things I don’t feel comfortable doing without express permission. My next stop was the Dubai Museum, another busy spot - I would not have guessed that Dubai had so many tourists! The museum reviews the history of the Dubai area from a humble pearl and fishing port to a major trade and business center thanks to oil. From there I wandered a bit in the al Fahidi area nearby. This is a historic district with restored buildings and local crafts people. It reminded me of places we went in Tunisia, but cleaner. And finally I went to the gigantic Dubai Mall. Unfortunately the “dancing fountain” was not performing this afternoon, but I did get to see the world’s tallest building, the Burj Khalifa. I didn’t try to go inside because I had dealt with enough crowds today already and also because it is a bit hazy outside. I am enjoying Dubai and it is easy to navigate because there are more English signs than Arabic ones and everyone seems to speak English.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb