Sculptors Do It With Chisels


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Khajuraho
May 27th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m staying in Khajuraho at the moment which is a World UNESCO protected site because of the large amount of well preserved medieval Hindu & Jain temples. Tourists (including me) come here because of the smut.

Along with carvings of the gods and armies marching past, there are also lots of carvings of us mortals getting it on in positions a lot more exotic than the missionary.

I would like to be able to talk about the beauty of the sculpture and how imposing the temples are as well as perhaps touching upon the meaning of some of the sculpture. However for the first time in India the heat is really getting to me. I’m currently miles from anywhere else and based in what is basically a desert, a place that would make even Moses turn to God and say, “We have to wander here for the rest of our lives? Can’t we just go back to Egypt?” So to be honest I couldn’t face a guided tour round the temples. I went round myself, ended up skipping two of them entirely and went and got an ice cream instead. However I did stay long enough to take lots of pictures of what the guidebook so tastefully calls the erotic art. So I hope you find the accompanying pictures enlightening and please enjoy the alternative titles for this blog entry that I considered:


1. Gods do it till they’re pleased.
2. “Oh Dammit! I’ve carved her left boob bigger than her right one.”
3. Priests do it till they're smitten.
4. The Juxtaposition of Arse and Tit creates a curious tension.
5. How to worry a horse.
6. A place you'll never visit on a school trip.
7. Khajuraho: The Greatest Erections in India.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb