Plane, Scooter, Bus, Train, Elephant and Houseboat


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello blog readers,

I'm absolutely gutted because I did an amazing blog 2 days ago in Goa and just as I clicked publish I got onto a screen saying I'd logged out and the blog hadn't been published. Laura doesn't want me to sit re-writing another blog (because she gets bored sat here watching me read it - I told her to go out into the night and try and get mugged - she didn't find it funny but I know my Dad would have told me to do the same thing). Anyways, I guess we'll just have to tell you about our days last couple of days in Goa for another time. Needless to say, we hired a scooter (hope you were sitting down Mum), parked outside a police station without a license or helmet, got offered to smuggle goods out of the country and ate a watermelon on the beach (whilst thinking of Mel going to Uni for the first time!!!)!

We killed 9 hours in Goa before getting our 20 hour train to Alleppey. 11 hours of which we were fast asleep and the remaining 9 went reasonably quickly. The last 2 hours were because of it being late! We got into Alleppey and got a rickshaw to our hotel which was really nice (currently 3rd in our top hotels listing - Pal's doesnt even get mentioned). Oh yes, another thing to my Mum. Pal's website is a pack of lies. It's the worst place ever and me and Laura were honestly laughing out loud at the pictures on there as we don't know where they are from!

Anyways, we wandered around the small town of Alleppey. Not exactly much going on and the only thing it has to offer is a houseboat trip around the backwaters. We did that this morning and we can honestly say it was the best 500Rps spent so far and was absolutely amazing. Clear blue skies, palm trees, fresh coconuts to drink on the way round! Amazing. We passed on paying 1800Rps for a taxi to Varkala and instead braved our first bus journey by wedging ourselves and our bags into tiny seats (Laura literally was nearly squeezed out of the window)! It cost 77Rps to get to a village nearby to our hotel and a rickshaw took us there. Not bad paying $1.50 to travel over 100km on public transport!

Our hotel, Dreams Beach Resort, is really nice. We've bagged an AC room even though we booked a non-AC room (haha). The manager is great and walked us to the beach just in time for the most amazing sunset. Can't wait to show everybody the pictures! We had food in a restaurant on the beach which was romantic but the lack of lighting needed to check whether my chicken was cooked was slightly suspicious and it was ridiculously overpriced! We've just booked our elephant ride for tomorrow morning so can't wait for that! It will be my last thing to do whilst in India - I haven't decided whether to fork out 300Rps for a head massage. I may buy presents with it instead and get Christine to do one next time I'm in Carlisle!

Next, and final (weep weep), blog will be in Delhi on Friday hopefully!

Tink and Laura xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



23rd September 2008

What? No live chicken in a basket on a train???
Tink! Time is running out for the live chicken in a basket on a train experience!! Glad to hear you are surviving! (Despite using scooters with no helmets!! you mad fools!) Looking forward to welcoming you back home on Sat. Love mum xxx
23rd September 2008

Isn't that spooky? Your mother writes a message about chickens when I hadn't seen your blog and had no idea what she was going to write - thats what happens after four years of happily married life together - scares me hope it does you too.
24th September 2008

Chicken in a cage has not been possible. In fact, the ONLY time we have seen chickens in cages is on a truck in Mumbai which we took a photo of for evidence!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb