Wow it's been a week since I've blogged!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
July 6th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow-time is flying here! In the last week we have done so much! Last Friday we finished the Art of Living Course. It was a good experience and I'm glad I participated in it. For the last day we had to perform a skit in groups of 3. Our group chose to do a Disney Medley-we each performed a song from a Disney movie, I performed "Under the Sea" from Little Mermaid. I felt this course was a great way to each grow in our personal way. I now know the sudarsanan kriya which helps to maintain stress in one's daily life. On Friday we also went to a Sri Sri Ravi Shankar school where we received our certificates for completing the course. Sri Sri Ravi Shankar is the creator of the Art of Living. Once again the children at this school touched my heart just like all the children here have. A group of the boys performed a yoga routine. The children were all so excited to see us.
We then embarked on our 10 hour long journey to Wayanad, northern Kerala where we were spending the weekend. We had to go around 9 hair pin curves to get to the top of the mountain where we were staying. I had a little anxiety looking over the edges but at the same time I felt this rush of adrenaline seeing this jaw-dropping landscape. Suni, who is from the Software Incubator, a company we visited last week, was kind enough to let us stay in his summer house and cottage for the weekend. We met a tribe called the Viyalavottom people. We also had an experience with a local shaman. She is 67 years old and has been practicing for 58 years. Do the math!That was very interesting. She told our fortunes with coconuts and she even went into a trance. She did a special ritual on me because she felt I had a fear of something. I thought it might be my fear of heights? I had to cut open a coconut with a machete. I must admit on the way down the mountain my fear and anxiety of heights was much more minimal. We also went on a safari ride but it was offseason to see the animals such as elephants, tigers, and such. Some of us did see a baby elephant but unfortunately I did not. I was very sad to leave this beautiful countryside. On the train ride back I slept like a baby.
Yesterday we saw a Malayalam movie. Today we went shopping and even went to a jewelers where gold, silver, and diamonds were sold. Tomorrow is the Holistic Healing conference in which I will be talking about my meditation research experiment I did this past school year. This weekend we will be staying at Loyola so I will be able to blog more than last weekend. Ciao for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb