220 square miles of tea


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Munnar
March 10th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the 26th of Feb I arrived back at Kochi train station with no idea where I was going to head next.
In all directions I had possibilities awaiting me, but for some reason no where had grabbed my attention. Not being able to make my mind up I sat in the station for a long time feeling a bit in a rut, everything felt like it was at a standstill.
After a good hour and a half in the station cyber cafe I had made up my mind. I would head to the hills. Funnily I had not realised that the entirety of my journey bar the brief stint on the backwaters had been spent in India's congested chaotic cities. Getting to the countryside was firmly on my agenda, and with it came the elusive promise of some peace of mind!

Not trusting the Keralan bus reputation for rusty buses and reckless drivers, I spent a small fortune on a taxi. Moments like this it really hurts in the wallet area to be travelling solo, but my financial woes eased off as we ascended into the hills!

As the roads began to wind and hairpin, the environment changed.
More TeaMore TeaMore Tea

But no vicars?
The air blasting through the windows turned cool and crisp from hot and humid. As we emerged through a long stretch through a forest canopy, a fantastic gamut of green greeted us... Tea! So much of it everywhere. I had heard there were plenty of plantations but I never realised the entire area would be made up of it.

Soul soothing. How apt a phrase, the air was light and almost delicious to inhale, a faint hint of tea and cardomom floated with it. The heat was just right. Cool, yet sunny and comfortably warm, sypathetic compared to the harsh humid heat of the sticky lowlands. I think I might stay here for a while, hmmmm!

I've never been a massive devotee to the countryside, but then I'd never been to a place like the Western Ghats before. Getting back to nature, as cliched as the phrase is, is the perfect remedy to the brainache of urban life. Munnar is by far the most beautiful countryside I have ever seen... Miles of rolling, bobbly tea-blotched hillls set beneath a backdrop of misty mountains. In the mornings and evenings as the sun eases off, the mist shrouds the hills and the peaks flirt with the low lying clouds of suspended cotton wool... mystical and ethereal!

I did a number of highland treks, mainly on my own. Serene, peaceful, GREEN, tranquil and blissfully quiet. How I don't miss you, honking highways! I could go on but I risk exhausting my supply of appropriate adjectives.

So I'll spare you the rest of my lofty ramblings. What else did I get up to? Um. Lots of walking, trekking... and Drinking gallons of tea (naturally). Went on a trek through wildlife sanctuary one day, however I think the wildlife was on holiday at the time. Pretty quiet bar a funnel web spider and an ox like creature that I saw. My guide couldn't have cared less if he tried! Had awful English and wasn't very helpful. I tried guessing what he was trying in vain to say most of the time; "this is the only type of cactus?" "that's a monkey footprint you're pointing at?" but realised he was just saying "yes" to all my inquiries.
Became a little disenchanted with his constant agreement, so getting cheeky I soon established that; he was high king-octopus, and angry badgers live in his
Green geometryGreen geometryGreen geometry

Carved green landscapes with the perfectly straight
bum.
Was a little disappointed with the lack of wildlife. Thought I heard a few grunts and snorts a few times, but I'm pretty sure it was just the guide.

Besides this, there were some incredible views, as per usual. Some rather dodgy cliffside paths that I did mainly on all-fours.

My favourite place yet! Hope you like the pix.







Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Ana MudiAna Mudi
Ana Mudi

Highest peak in peninsular India
From the viewpointFrom the viewpoint
From the viewpoint

Well worth the trek!
Porthamedu viewpointPorthamedu viewpoint
Porthamedu viewpoint

Just as sunset hit
Leaf pickingLeaf picking
Leaf picking

A real tea lady!
LushLush
Lush

Tea scented undergrowth
Yours trulyYours truly
Yours truly

Complete with bed head
Highland transportHighland transport
Highland transport

Looks fancier than it was!
Wildlife park guide/nutterWildlife park guide/nutter
Wildlife park guide/nutter

Sitting on the cliff edge?! This guy had balls!
Big Rock ThingBig Rock Thing
Big Rock Thing

I think it's called a mountain


13th March 2008

Really enjoying your blog. Am planning to go to Kerala in December so am following your travels with keen interest. Wish I was there already!
15th March 2008

wow
The pictures in this latest section are breath taking. and the photo of you with bed head looks fit! ;)
15th March 2008

also...
keep laughing at the idea of a conversation that goes. Kim - Do you even understand what I'm saying? Guide - Yes Kim - Are you the high king octopus? Guide - Yes Kim - Do badgers live in your bum? Guide - Yes Brilliant
17th March 2008

yep
Hey Moe, that's pretty much how it went! haha How are you getting on with the course, project and life in general? Give us a shout on facebook
17th March 2008

Badgers
I'm envy central over here! I LOVE TEA. Glad to hear you are pottling on okay. Xx
17th March 2008

Amazing!
Thanks for your lovely stories, you are certainly becoming adapted to travelling in India. What an experience you must be getting!
19th March 2008

Amazing!
Kim that looks amazing! I hope you're having a great time out there... it sounds like it! xxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb