I have arrived!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kozhikode
February 28th 1344
Published: November 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived at the Malabar coast where the city-state Calicut is located. I have met so many diverse people along the Indian Ocean Trade route; I have learned about so many different religions that I never knew about! Hinduism and Buddhism seem to be all people talk about. Calicut has many types of religions within its boundaries such as Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity, Judaism, and Sikhism. Religions seem to constantly interfere in social aspects as well as politics. I will be staying on a street with people from my homeland so I won’t feel too out of place. India has few large states, many small states, and a couple city-states, such as Calicut. This political diversity encouraged prosperous trade since small communities can not produce everything they need. The government has taken advantage of our wonderful location by making laws that are favorable to merchants, which works for me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb