From China to Calicut


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
December 17th 1343
Published: November 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

The year is 1342 and I am traveling to Calicut from China because I have heard of its prosperous spice and cotton trade along the Indian Ocean from Ibn Battuta’s travels. I hope to profit from the laws that I heard were favorable to merchants; boy I hope what they say is true. In my travels, I met people that said the Calicut government protected merchants from theft, taxed them at low rates, and treated all groups equally! I have studied so much about monsoon winds because I know it will help when I exchange my Indian goods. I am planning on staying for about six months until the monsoons are predicted to change paths and then I am heading back eastward towards my home to trade my goods.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb