Buying a saree


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
November 16th 2013
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 12.314, 76.6759

My first mission in Mysore was to buy a saree. I asked at my hotel where to get one and for what kind of price. A guy told me I would find the best deals at the Government Silk factory. It is also what the Lonely Planet says. So I went there. I gave them my budget and the women didn't try to convince me to get a more expensive one. And what I really liked was that the prices were written on each piece of fabric, which mean they don't make up a price for foreigners.

You get a seat and then the show begins. The women unfolded many sarees on the table in from of me. Everything that had a little bit of pink or purple was eliminated. From the start I liked one that was burgundy and gold with peacock motifs. The good thing is that you can wear them over your shoulder to see if the colour will suit you. I tried few different colours and patterns until the choice was down to two. The above mentioned one and a turquoise blue one with a leaf pattern. After a wee while I settled for the burgundy and gold with peacocks. As they say, first choice is always the best!

Once you have the piece of fabric, they call the tailor, he takes your measurement to make the blouse and the skirt that goes underneath. I also asked them to show me how to put it on. It is not too difficult but it will require some practicing. They also gave me a 'manual' to use as a reminder.

I think I got all that for a rather good price, 2 420 rupees which is about £25. Not bad for a 6m long piece of silk and tailored top.

The tailor brought everything to my hotel and I tried it on. He just said 'You look very different'. No kidding! Look forward to the pictures guys!

Ma mission principale à Mysore est d'acheter un saree. Donc une fois installée à l'hôtel je me renseigne pour savoir où je peux trouver un saree au meilleur prix. L'homme me dit d'aller à la boutique de la fabrique de soie du gouvernement. C'est aussi ce que recommande le Lonely Planet donc j'y vais. En arrivant je leur donne mon budget et la dame ne se met pas en tête de me faire dépenser plus. Et ce que j'ai trouvé vraiment bien c'est que les prix sont écrits sur chaque pièce de soie. Donc ils ne peuvent pas faire un prix différent en fonction du client.

Tu t'assieds et là le show commence. La vendeuse sort une pile de saree et commence à les ouvrir. Tous ceux qui (de près ou de loin) avaient du rose ont été éliminés rapidement. J'ai tout de suite bien aimé un bordeaux et or avec des motifs de paons. Ce qui est bien c'est que tu peux les mettre sur tes épaules pour voir comment ça fait. J'en ai essayé pas mal avant de réduire mon choix à deux. Celui mentionné plus haut et un bleu turquoise et or avec un motif de feuille. Après un long moment d'hésitation j'ai opté pour l'option bordeaux, or et paons. La première idée est toujours la meilleure !

Une fois la pièce de soie choisie, le tailleur vient prendre tes mesures pour faire le haut et la jupe de dessous. J'ai aussi demandé que l'on me montre comment le mettre. Ce n'est pas trop compliqué mais ça va demander un peu d'entraînement. Ils m'ont même donné une feuille avec les explications. Je pense que je me suis bien débrouillée et que je n'ai pas payé trop cher. C'était juste 2 420 roupies ce qui fait un peu moins de 30€. Ce n'est pas si mal pour une pièce de 6m de soie et un haut sur mesure.

Le tailleur m'a tout amené à mon hôtel le soir même. Du coup j'ai essayé l'ensemble et il a dit « Ça vous change » Non, sans blague ! Vous verrez les photos.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb